28 Beavers earn 2020-21 NSIC Winter All-Academic honors

28 Beavers earn 2020-21 NSIC Winter All-Academic honors
Thursday, March 18, 2021
28 Beavers earn 2020-21 NSIC Winter All-Academic honors

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced Thursday that 28 Bemidji State University student-athletes were selected to the 2020-21 NSIC Winter All-Academic Team, including 18 named to the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence.

In all, 797 student-athletes from across the 16-team NSIC were recognized for success in the classroom, with 482 earning the prestigious NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence honor.

Bemidji State’s winter programs were led by its indoor track & field team with 13 members recognized for their academic accomplishment. BSU also saw 12 student-athletes from women’s basketball and three from men’s basketball earn all-academic laurels.

Sports considered for the NSIC Winter All-Academic Team are: men’s and women’s basketball, women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s indoor track & field, and wrestling.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team, student-athletes must maintain a grade-point average of 3.20 or better. To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, a student-athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative GPA or higher. For both awards, student-athletes must be a member of a varsity traveling team, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at her/his institution, and must have completed at least one full academic year at that institution.

Men’s Basketball (3/3*)
* Griffin Chase (Sr., Nevis, Minn.)
* Cody Landwehr (Jr., St. Cloud, Minn.)
* Derek Thompson (Sr., Cold Spring, Minn.)

Women’s Basketball (12/8*)
* Brooklyn Bachmann (Sr., Minooka, Ill.)
* Tori Bott (So., Two Harbors, Minn.)
* Taylor Bray (Sr., Anoka, Minn.)
* Teagan Pompa (Sr., Elgin, Ill.)
* Coley Rezabek (Jr., Sunrise Beach, Mo.)
* Taylor Vold (Jr., Hermantown, Minn.)
* Molly Wenner (Jr., Cottage Grove, Minn.)
* Claire Wolhowe (Jr., Staples, Minn.)
Gabby Dubois (Sr., West Fargo, N.D.)
Rachael Heittola (So., Belleville, Wis.)
Trinity Myer (Jr., Hayward, Wis.)
Sydney Zerr (Sr., Shakopee, Minn.)

Indoor Track & Field (13/7*)
* Zoe Christensen (Jr., Glencoe, Minn.)
* Elizabeth Hiltner (Jr., Osakis, Minn.)
* Beatrice Kjelland (Jr., Park River, N.D.)
* Anastasia Klein (So., Pittsville, Wis.)
* Ryne Prigge (Jr., Ely, Minn.)
* Rafaela Rafajlovska (Sr., Gostivar, Macedonia)
* Amanda Smith (So., Litchfield, Minn.)
Faith Beck (Jr., Dickinson, N.D.)
Libby Christenson (Sr., Stewartville, Minn.)
Carissa Decko (Sr., Deer River, Minn.)
Analise Fabre (Sr., St. Charles, Minn.)
Lily Johnson (So., Monticello, Minn.)
Emma Realing (So., Casper, Wyo.)

* Denotes NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence Honors

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit BSUBeavers.com, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers).

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).