Bemidji State eighth after first round of Wayne State Spring Invitational
Friday, March 29, 2013
Bemidji State eighth after first round of Wayne State Spring Invitational

WAYNE, Neb. (Wayne Country Club) – Led by a one-over-par 73 from John Hafdal (So., Prior Lake, Minn.), the Bemidji State University men’s golf team opened the spring portion of its 2012-13 schedule with a 304 (+16) in the first round of the Wayne State College Spring Invitational in Wayne, Neb.

The Beavers are tied for eighth place with University of Sioux Falls at +16 and sit 14 shots off the lead with 18 holes to play. Minnesota State University, Mankato holds down the top spot after carding a two-over-par 290 at the par-72, 6,407-yard Wayne State Country Club buoyed by a 71 (-1) by individual leader Rob Kroft.

BSU’s Hafdal is tied with seven others for seventh place at one-over-par, but is just three stokes out of the top spot on the leaderboard. Andrew Benson (So., Eden Prairie, Minn.) is three stokes back with a 76 (+4), freshman Brett Musich (International Falls, Minn.) posted a five-over 77 and Nathan Brown (So., Binbrook, Ontario) rounded out the Beavers’ team score at 78 (+6).

The second and final round of the Wayne State Spring Invite will take place tomorrow with a 9 a.m. shotgun start from the Wayne Country Club.

Bemidji State will continue its spring season April 6-7 when it travels to Moravia, Iowa and the Honey Creek Resort on Rathburn Lake to compete in the Upper Iowa Spring Invitational. The event was pushed back a day and moved south from Waterloo, Iowa in an effort to find a playable course and warmer weather.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).