Final round of NSIC Championships cancelled; BSU men take eighth
Sunday, April 13, 2014
Final round of NSIC Championships cancelled; BSU men take eighth

OMAHA, Neb. (Tiburon Golf Course) – The final round of the 2013-14 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Men’s Golf Championship was cancelled Sunday afternoon leaving Bemidji State University eighth overall. Freshman Aaron Leintz (Bagley, Minn.) led the Beavers, finishing ninth individually, just 11 shots out of medalist contention.

The Beavers began the spring portion of the unique 72-hole event tied for sixth place with 314-329—643 (+67), 44 stokes behind tournament leader St. Cloud State University (296-303—599/+23), but a 304 (+16) at Tiburon Golf Course Saturday, caused BSU to slip to eighth (947/+83). Poor weather conditions in the Omaha, Neb. area prevented the Beavers from a bounce back performance on the final day of competition.

St. Cloud State ran away with the league title, holding a 30-stroke lead over Concordia University-St. Paul (920/+56) and the rest of the field (890) after 54 holes.

BSU’s Leintz carded a one-over-par 73 to climb five spots on the leaderboard Saturday and finish the event in ninth place overall at 14-over-par (230/+14).

SCSU's Tyler Koivisto was the model of consistency posting three consecutive 73s (+1) to earn the NSIC’s 2013-14 individual title by three strokes (219/+3).

The first two rounds of the event were played Sept. 30-Oct. 1 at The Classic at Madden’s Resort in Brainerd, Minn.

The NSIC Championship brings the Bemidji State man’s season to a close.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like us on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" menu at

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs. BSU’s NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey programs are members of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.