Beavers finish sixth, Leintz takes 13th at NSIC Championships

Beavers finish sixth, Leintz takes 13th at NSIC Championships
Saturday, April 15, 2017
Beavers finish sixth, Leintz takes 13th at NSIC Championships

SMITHVILLE, Mo. (Paradise Pointe Golf Club) – The Bemidji State University men’s golf team turned in a 56-over-par 920 (307-305-308) April 13-15 to finish sixth at the 2016-17 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Championships. Senior Aaron Leintz led the Beavers, carding s 56-hole total of 227 (73-76-78) to take 13th individually at +11.

Leintz finished the par-72, 6,710-yard Outlaw Course to finish 13 strokes out of medalist contention, dropping five spots on the leaderboard with a +6, 78 Saturday.

Augustana University's Parker Klitzke took home top individual honor, riding a second-round score of 68 (-4) to a three-day total of 214. He finished with a three-stroke lead over the field and was the only competitor to finished the tournament under par at -2.

Minnesota State University, Mankato won its third consecutive team title, finishing the event at +24 (294-303-291--888) The Mavericks 291 (+3) on the final day of competition to climb three spots on the leaderboard and stretch its lead over the field to 14 shots.

Bemidji State’s +56 left it three strokes out of fifth place and 32 strokes behind Minnesota State.

The Beavers will be back in action April 22 when they host BSU golfers from the past in a Alumni match. The event is set to begin at noon at the Bemidji Town and Country Club.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).