Beavers tie for 10th in first tournament of Spring

Beavers tie for 10th in first tournament of Spring
Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Beavers tie for 10th in first tournament of Spring

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – The Bemidji State University men’s golf team opened its spring season by tying for 10th out of 13 teams at the Winona Spring Break Invitational at Stallion Mountain Golf Course in Las Vegas, Nev. The Beavers recorded a two-round total of 618 (+42) led by freshman Ian Mackenzie-Olson who tied for 23rd individually by carding 151 (76-75, +7) over two rounds.

For complete results, click here.

Rocky Mountain College took home the team title by firing for a two over par 578 (286-292). Winona State University finished second with 591 (295-296, +15) while Missouri Western State University took third (300-294, 594, +18).

Junior Cody Cook followed Mackenzie-Olson with a score of 153 (77-76, +9) to tie for 29th individually while junior Joe Vatnsdal trailed by just one stroke and finished 34th. Freshman Tanner Sperling (79-77, 156, +12) and senior Sam Otto (79-79, 158, +14) round out the Beavers’ five scorers.

Brandon Olson (81-78, +15), Brandon Nelson (80-82, +18), Brennan Hockman (81-82, +10), Aaron Schnathorst (90-79, +25), Ben Skaar (88-85, +29), Cole Johnson (92-91, +39) and Matthew Gregg (92-98, +46) each competed as individuals for Bemidji State.

The Beavers will be back in action Mar. 25-26 at the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Preview at Paradise Pointe Outlaw Course in Smithville, Mo.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeaversMGolf), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).