Beavers tie for fourth at NSIC Championship

Beavers tie for fourth at NSIC Championship
Saturday, April 14, 2018
Beavers tie for fourth at NSIC Championship

SMITHVILLE, Mo. – The Bemidji State University men’s golf team shot 301 on the final day of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Men’s Golf Championship to tie for fourth place. The Beavers shot 918 (318-299-301, +54) over the three-round tournament and were led by freshman Ian Mackenzie-Olson who tied for 11th individually at 11 over par (77-75-75, 227).

For a complete list of scoring, click here.

Minnesota State University, Mankato won its fourth consecutive team title as the Mavericks shot rounds of 314-292-301 to finish at 907 (+43), three strokes ahead of Winona State (317-293-300=910 + 46).

Concordia University, St. Paul’s Noah Rasinski and St. Cloud State University's Troy Ryynanen finished the 54-holes tied atop the leaderboard at 219 while Rasinkski defeated Ryynanen after a playoff to earn the individual title.

Senior Samuel Otto followed Makenzie-Olson by tying for 21st individually with a score of 231 (78-75-78, +15) while junior Brennan Hockman was close behind with a score of 232 (83-72-77, +16) to tie for 23rd. Junior Cody Cook fired a 234 (80-82-72, +18) including an even par 72 on the final day to finish 27th while freshman Tanner Sperling rounded out the Beaver scoring after carding 237 (83-77-77, +21) to tie for 30th.

The Beavers now await their fate to find out if they make the NCAA Super Regional tournament held at the Findlay Country Club in Findlay, Ohio, May 7-9.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeaversMGolf), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).