Men’s Golf ties for 16th at competitive Lindenwood Invitational

Men’s Golf ties for 16th at competitive Lindenwood Invitational
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Men’s Golf ties for 16th at competitive Lindenwood Invitational

ST. CHARLES, Mo. – In its first action of the calendar year, the Bemidji State University men’s golf team tied for 16th of 20 teams at the Lindenwood Invitational held at the Missouri Bluffs Golf Club in St. Charles, Mo. The Beavers shot a team score of 950 (323-313-314) at the three-round, two-day tournament and were led by junior Chris Swenson who finished 51st individually with a score of 233 (79-78-76).

For complete results, click here.

Lindenwood University took home the team title as the host school after carding a team score of 869 (294-286-289) while University of Central Oklahoma (291-298-287=876) and Southeastern Oklahoma State University (291-293-292=876) tied for second. Of Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference schools competing at the tournament, Winona State University finished as the top school after placing fifth with a team score of 891 (310-291-290).

Behind Swenson, sophomore Ian Mackenzie-Olson tied for 59th individually after carding 236 (80-81-75) followed by junior Brennan Hockman just one stroke behind to tie for 59th (79-77-81). Sophomore Brandon Nelson followed by shooting 249 (85-77-87) while junior Matthew Gregg rounded out the Beavers top five with 250 (85-83-82). Senior Cody Cook competed as an individual and finished 88th with a score of 247 (83-84-80).

Bemidji State will return to action April 5-6 for the NSIC Preview held at the Shoal Creek Golf Club in Kansas City, Mo.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).