Beavers take third at NSIC Men’s Golf Championship

Beavers take third at NSIC Men’s Golf Championship
Saturday, April 20, 2019
Beavers take third at NSIC Men’s Golf Championship

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The Bemidji State University men’s golf team took third place at the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Men’s Golf Championship held at the Shoal Creek Golf Course in Kansas City, Mo. The Beavers totaled a team score of 901 (300-302-299), five strokes behind second place, and were led by junior Chris Swenson who tied for second individually after firing a five-over par 218 (76-70-72).

Swenson also earned NSIC All-Tournament Team honors for his top-five finish.

For complete results, click here.

Winona State University won its 14th NSIC Men’s Golf Championship and its first since 2017 after shooting rounds of 293-300-277 to finish at 870 (+18), 26 strokes ahead of Concordia University-St. Paul (304-302-290=896). The Warriors finished with four of the top-five golfers, including medalist Ben Jasper, who fired rounds of 72-73-69 to finish at 214, one-over-par to finish four strokes ahead of second place.

Behind Swenson, sophomore Ian Mackenzie-Olson put together a top-20 finish after carding a 13-over par 226 (76-78-72) to finish 12th individually. He was followed by sophomore Tanner Sperling just thirteen strokes behind (72-80-77=229) to tie for 17th. Brandon Nelson followed by tying for 21st at 19-over par (76-78-78=232) while junior Brennan Hockman rounded out the Beavers’ scoring and placed 39th with a score of 243 (82-76-85).

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).