Nelson posts top-10 finish to lead BSU Men’s Golf at NSU Golf Classic

Nelson posts top-10 finish to lead BSU Men’s Golf at NSU Golf Classic
Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Nelson posts top-10 finish to lead BSU Men’s Golf at NSU Golf Classic

MUSKOGEE, Okla. – Led by senior Brandon Nelson, the Bemidji State University men’s golf team finished 13th of 18 teams at the Northeastern State Men’s Golf Classic at the Muskogee Country Club in Muskogee, Okla. The Beavers carded a team score of 885 (291-294-300) at the three-round, two-day tournament.

Nelson paced the Beavers and tied for sixth individually by scoring a career three-round low of 209 (69-68-72) which was also four-under par for the tournament. Nelson helped the Beavers finish second among Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference members at the tournament and finished one stroke behind Winona State University.

Behind Nelson was Koby Kuenzel (71-79-73) and Jack Southard (72-75-76) who each posted rounds of 223 to tie for 55th individually. Alex Iverson finished fourth on the Beavers with a score of 232 (80-73-79) while Seth Schricker rounded out the Beavers top-five scores with a score of 242 (79-78-85). Tanner Wanous competed as the Beavers’ lone individual in the tournament and shot 233 (75-80-78) to finish 92nd.

Arkansas Technical University won the team title after carding a team score of 837 (277-272-288) and finished five strokes in front of second place, Central Missouri University (283-271-288=842).

Bemidji State returns home and continues its fall season by competing in the J.R. Watkins Invitational held at The Jewel Golf Club in Lake City, Minn., Sept. 27-28. 

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).