October 19, 20121st2nd3rdFinal
Lake Superior State0022
Bemidji State0000
Scoring Summary
316:51LSSUChris Ciotti
319:48LSSUDomenic Monardo (Andrew Perrault )
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
LSSUKevin Kapalka59:580027
BSUAndrew Walsh58:451038
Statistical ComparisonLSSUBSU
Shots on Goal4027
Power Plays1-40-3
Lake Superior State sinks Beavers in game's final minutes, 2-0
Friday, October 19, 2012
Lake Superior State sinks Beavers in game's final minutes, 2-0

BEMIDJI, Minn. (Sanford Center) -- The Bemidji State University and Lake Superior State men's ice hockey teams were locked in a 0-0 stalemate for nearly 57 minutes Friday at Sanford Center, but a late penalty left the Beavers short-handed and the Lakers capitalized. With 3:09 remaining, Chris Ciotti put LSSU ahead and Domenic Monardo would add an empty-netter with 12 seconds to go as Lake Superior State defeated BSU 2-0 and spoiled its 2012-13 home opener.

The Beavers dominated play during the opening period.  Eleven minutes into the game, BSU held a 10-3 edge in shots on goal and despite failing beat the Lake Superior goaltender, Kevin Kapalka, BSU would complete the frame owning a 15-7 advantage in shots.

Lake Superior State's Kevin Czuczman was whistled for hooking just 30 seconds into the second, supplying BSU with a power-play opportunity and when Brett Wall was booked for tripping at the 11:58 mark, the Beavers would get their third chance of the game on the man advantage, but would come up dry on both attempts managing just four shots on goal.

LSSU out shot the Beavers 12-8 in the second period. Despite being held scoreless, the Lakers would take the momentum into the third period and would take it to the Beavers, registering 21 shots on goal during the final 20 minutes of play.

Missing on two power-play opportunities during the first six minutes of the third, LSSU looked to get the break in needed when David Boehm (Sr., F, Naples, Fla.) received a five-minute major penalty and game misconduct for checking from behind leaving BSU a man short for five of the final 7:05 of action. However, play was neutralized 53 seconds into the major penalty as Nick McParland was sent to the box for two minutes. Shortly after he returned, and with just nine seconds left on the major penalty, Ciotti picked up a faceoff won by the Beavers in their own defensive zone and slipped the puck around the Beavers' goaltender Andrew Walsh (So., Dawson Creek, British Columbia) for an unassisted goal.

With 1:22 left in the game, BSU head coach Tom Serratore, pulled Walsh to get an extra attacker on the ice, but the Beavers were unable to hold the zone and after a couple close calls and blocked shots, Monardo, put the proverbial nail in the coffin, scoring his second goal of 2012-13 on an open BSU net.

LSSU finished the night with a 40-27 edge in shots on goal, out shooting BSU 37-16 during the final 49 minutes of play.

While Bemidji State was held scoreless on three power-play opportunities (0-for-3), while the Lakers made good on 1-of-4 man advantage opportunities and that power-play goal made the difference.

Walsh turned aside a career-high 38 saves, but was tagged with his first loss of the season after surrendering the Lakers' late goal.

The Beavers fall to 0-1-1 on the season, while the Lakers improve to 2-1-0.

Bemidji State will attempt to salvage a split in the nonconference series tomorrow when the teams complete the two-game set.  The opening faceoff is slated for 7:07 p.m. at Sanford Center.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).