January 26, 20131st2nd3rdFinal
Nebraska Omaha1102
Bemidji State1001
Scoring Summary
107:48BSUAaron McLeod (Brance Orban , Jordan George)
110:36UNOJosh Archibald (Ryan Walters )
201:56UNODominic Zombo (Johnnie Searfoss )
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
UNOJohn Faulkner60:001022
BSUMathieu Dugas58:462024
Statistical ComparisonUNOBSU
Shots on Goal2623
Power Plays0-10-2
Beavers edged by No. 14 Nebraska Omaha, 2-1
Saturday, January 26, 2013
Beavers edged by No. 14 Nebraska Omaha, 2-1

BEMIDJI, Minn. (Sanford Center) – The Bemidji State University men's hockey team fell 2-1 to the University of Nebraska Omaha at Sanford Center Saturday night. The victory capped a weekend series sweep for the No. 14 Mavericks, who got goals from Brainerd, Minn. native Josh Archibald and Dominic Zombo to earn the victory.

BSU, which is now 5-14-5 with a 4-10-4 mark in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA), fell 5-3 in the series-opener Friday night.

After more than seven minutes of uneventful play to open the game, the Beavers got on the board at the 7:48 mark with a goal that took a review from the officials to register. Jordan George (Sr., F, Madison, Wis,) carried the puck into the zone to lead a 3-on-2 break and found Brance Orban (Sr., F, Lethbridge, Alberta) to his right. Orban passed to Aaron McLeod (Sr., F, Ottawa, Ontario), who was charging down the slot, got a shot off, collected the puck off the UNO goaltender John Faulkner’s pad and pushed it through before sliding into the goal.

Nebraska-Omaha would come back less than three minutes later, when the nation’s leading scorer, Ryan Walters, picked up a loose puck on the halfboards and skated it into the zone to lead a 2-on-1. He found Josh Archibald on the left post for a tap in to beat BSU’s goaltender Mathieu Dugas (Sr., L’Assomption, Quebec), who was making his first start since Dec. 7.

With the score tied, 1-1, UNO took an edge in shots, 10-7, into the locker room after 20 minutes of play.

The Mavericks grabbed their first lead of the night at the 1:56 mark of the second period. Johnnie Searfoss collected a loose puck in the neutral zone skated it in and connected with Dominic Zombo to complete the 2-on-1 goal.

Aided by three minutes of power-play time to wrap up a major penalty to Nick Seeler, Bemidji State picked up steam during the final 10 ten minutes of the second period, but came up with nothing to show for it despite out shooting UNO 9-8 in the session.

Nebraska-Omaha stepped up their defensive effort during the third period clogging the Beavers’ offensive zone and limiting their opportunities.

Trailing by a goal with 1:14 left, Bemidji State pulled its goaltender for an extra attacker. The mover produced scoring chances, but Faulkner and the Mavericks held strong and copleted the 2-1 victory.

Bemidji State was 0-for-2 with a man advantage on the night marking its third consecutive game without a power-play goal (0-for-17), while the BSU penalty-kill unit held UNO scoreless on its only power-play chance of the night.

UNO outshot Bemidji State 26-23 in the game.

Dugas finished the night with 24 saves, but surrendered both UNO goals and was tagged with the loss. He drops to 1-5-1 on the season.

BSU continues league play next weekend when it welcomes first-place St. Cloud State University to Sanford Center for Athletic Hall of Fame weekend. The Beavers will be looking to put a halt to an eight-game (0-6-2) winless streak when the series gets underway at 7:37 p.m. Friday. Opening faceoff for Saturday’s series finale is set for 7:07 p.m.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUMHockey or @BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).