March 15, 20131st2nd3rdOTFinal
Bemidji State00101
Scoring Summary
206:56MINNBen Marshall (Kyle Rau )
319:22BSUBrance Orban (Radoslav Illo , Jeff Jubinville)
413:18MINNKyle Rau (Nate Schmidt , Christian Isackson)
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
BSUAndrew Walsh72:232049
MINNAdam Wilcox73:131017
Statistical ComparisonBSUMINN
Shots on Goal1851
Power Plays0-00-2
Walsh stops 49; Minnesota takes game 1 in overtime, 2-1
Friday, March 15, 2013
Walsh stops 49; Minnesota takes game 1 in overtime, 2-1

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (Mariucci Arena) – Bemidji State University goaltender Andrew Walsh (So., Dawson Creek, British Columbia) turned aside 49 University of Minnesota shots and kept a BSU team managing only 18 shots in the game for over 73 minutes, but the No. 2 Golden Gophers’ Kyle Rau found the back of the net in overtime to swing game one of the best-of-three Western Collegiate Hockey Association Playoff series in Minnesota’s favor, 2-1, Friday at Mariucci Arena.

Trailing 1-0 for nearly two periods of play, Bemidji State pulled Walsh with 1:32 to go in regulation and a nifty goal by Brance Orban (Sr., F, Lethbridge, Alberta) with 38 seconds to play, the Beavers forced their 12th overtime game of the season and their longest game, at 73:18, since a 4-3 loss to Niagara University March 14, 2004 in the College Hockey America Championship game.

BSU controlled play for large portions of the extra session, and although the Beavers had their chances, were unable to pocket the game-winner and record its first overtime-winner of the season.

After a scoreless first period of play, Minnesota opened the scoring at the 6:56 mark of the second period. Rau found Ben Marshall at the top of the slot and Marshall tucked the puck just inside the left post for his seventh goal of the season.

Bemidji State had its best opportunity of the period when Ben Kinne (Sr., F, St. Paul, Minn.) tipped a Minnesota pass to Jordan George (Sr., F, Madison, Wis.), who found a crease and got behind the Gopher defensive pair for a one-on-one chance with the Minnesota goaltender Adam Wilcox, but fired the puck into Wilcox’s midsection.

The Gophers took a 1-0 lead and a 28-7 edge in shots on goal into the second intermission.

Bemidji State generated some sustained pressure in the third period. Despite being out shot 14-3 in the session, BSU needed just one shot to tie the game and it came off the stick of Orban with an extra attacker on the ice. Radoslav Illo (Jr., Bystrica, Slovakia) and Jeff Jubinville (Jr., F, Edmonton, Alberta) were credited with assists on the scoring play.

Four minutes and 15 seconds into the extra frame, Danny Mattson (So., F, Minneapolis, Minn.) slid the puck across the front of the crease to Cory Ward (Fr., F, Las Vegas, Nev.) on the back door, but the puck hopped his stick in front of a virtually open net.

Rau and Minnesota would break the tie and secure the game one victory 13:18 into overtime.

Walsh finished the night stopping 49 of 51 shots on goal in 72:23 of action, marking the first time a BSU opponent has recorded 50 shot son goal since Alabama-Huntsville did Jan. 22, 2005. The sophomore was the goaltender of record after surrendering both Minnesota goals and dips to 5-13-6 on the season.

Wilcox made 17 save en route to his 24th victory of the season (24-6-5).

Bemidji State kept the Minnesota power play off the scoreboard tonight, allowing just one shot on the Gophers’ two power-play opportunities.

Bemidji State, now 6-21-8 overall, looks to extend the series and its season tomorrow as the Beavers face Minnesota for game two of the best-of-three playoff series. The opening faceoff is slated for 7:07 p.m. at Mariucci Arena.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers or @BSUMHockey), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).