March 16, 20131st2nd3rdFinal
Bemidji State1203
Scoring Summary
116:49BSUJordan George (Ben Kinne , Radoslav Illo)
209:27BSUCory Ward (Sam Rendle , Sam Windle)
215:33MINNNick Bjugstad (Kyle Rau , Erik Haula)
215:47BSUJeff Jubinville (Phil Brewer , Brance Orban)
218:54MINNNate Condon (Erik Haula , Zach Budish)
307:38MINNA.J. Michaelson (Erik Haula , Zach Budish)
319:07MINNBen Marshall
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
BSUAndrew Walsh59:154037
MINNAdam Wilcox60:003019
Statistical ComparisonBSUMINN
Shots on Goal2241
Power Plays1-11-2
Beavers fall, 4-3, to Minnesota to end season
Saturday, March 16, 2013
Beavers fall, 4-3, to Minnesota to end season

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (Mariucci Arena) – The University of Minnesota trailed Bemidji State University for 30:49 and didn’t take its first lead until the final minute of regulation, but when Ben Marshall scored his eighth goal of the season, it tipped the game and the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) playoff series in favor of the No. 2 Golden Gophers, 4-3.

Bemidji State gave Minnesota all it could handle from the opening faceoff to the final horn. Scoring the first goal of the game and twice stretching it’s lead to two, BSU made the best of its opportunities. Out shot 41-22 on the night, the Beavers got 37 saves from goaltender Andrew Walsh (So., G, Dawson Creek, British, Columbia), its hard-nosed defensive play accounted for an additional 15 blocked shots and BSU made good on it’s only power-play opportunity of the night.

With the victory, Minnesota advances to the 2013 WCHA/Red Baron Final Five next weekend at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn.

The loss brings the Beavers’ season to a close. BSU finished 2012-13 with a 6-22-8 record overall and was 5-16-7 in WCHA play to finish 11th in the league standings.

Saturday night also served as the final game in the green and white for a BSU senior class is made up of Jake Areshenko, David Boehm, Matt Carlson, Mathieu Dugas, Jordan George, Ben Kinne, Aaron McLeod, Brance Orban, Brady Wacker. As a group, the class accounted for four CHA All-Rookie Team awards, A CHA Rookie of the Year pick, 18 WCHA Scholar Athlete awards, 16 WCHA All-Academic awards, a College Hockey America regular season championship (2009-10), two NCAA Tournament appearance (2009 and 2010) and a Frozen Four berth. This class was also part of the transition from the College Hockey America to the WCHA, the last game at John S. Glas Fieldhouse and the first game at Sanford Center.

BSU opened the game with the intensity it played with during last night’s overtime period. BSU got the first shot on goal and got on the board first. With Nick Bjugstad in the box for boarding, Bemidji State got its first and only power-play opportunity of the series and capitalized. Just 29 seconds into the man advantage and 16:49 into the first period, Radoslav Illo (Jr., F, Bystrica, Slovakia) fired a shot from the top of the right faceoff circle, Wilcox made the save, but Ben Kinne (Sr., F, St. Paul, Minn.) was there for a put back attempt that the UM goaltender again turned aside to the stick of Jordan George (Sr., F, Madison, Wis.), who tapped in his ninth goal of the season and 58th of his career.

BSU was out shot 12-7 in the frame, but Walsh made 12 stops and BSU skated into the first intermission leading 1-0.

The teams combined for 24 shots and four goals scored in the second period, three scored in the final 4:27 of the frame, but when the horn sounded, it was BSU with a 3-2 lead.

Cory Ward (Fr., F, Las Vegas, Nev.) put BSU up 2-0 when he was in front to tip in a Sam Windle (So., D, Maple Grove, Minn.) shot from the point for his ninth goal of the season. Sam Rendle (So., D, Grand Rapids, Minn.) was also credited with an assist on the play.

At the 15:26 mark of the period, George was whistled for tripping, supplying the Gophers with their first power-play chance of the evening.

It took Bjugstad and Minnesota just seven seconds to find the back of the net.

As quick as Minnesota trimmed the BSU lead to a goal, the Beavers regained the two-goal cushion. Fourteen seconds after the ensuing faceoff, Jeff Jubinville (Jr., F, Edmonton, Alberta) willed a rebound goal past Wilcox. Phil Brewer (Fr., F, Cambridge, Ontario) and Brance Orban (Sr., F, Lethbridge, Alberta) were credited with assists on the scoring play, putting BSU up 3-1 at the 15:47 mark.

Minnesota would again chip away at the BSU lead, when Nate Condon got just enough of a Erik Haula shot in front of the net to deflect the puck five hole and the puck trickled across the goal line at the 18:54 mark of the period.

With 16 seconds left in the period, Minnesota would get another break when Matt Prapavessis (So., D, Oakville, Ontario) was sent to box for interference.  Trailing 3-2, the Gophers would start the third period with 1:44 of power play time, but the BSU penalty-kill unit stood tall and snuffed out the Minnesota chance.

A.J. Michaelson collected his own rebound and deposited his third goal of the season into a virtually open net at the 7:38 mark of the third to even the score 3-3. Eleven minutes and 31 seconds later, Marshall scored the difference-maker.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers or @BSUMHockey), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).