October 30, 20151st2nd3rdOTFinal
Bemidji State00000
Northern Mich.00000
Scoring Summary
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
BSUBitzer, Michael59:570022
NMUAtte Tolvanen60:000046
Statistical ComparisonBSUNMU
Shots on Goal4622
Power Plays0-50-4
Beavers and Wildcats battle to scoreless tie in Marquette
Friday, October 30, 2015
Beavers and Wildcats battle to scoreless tie in Marquette

MARQUETTE, Mich. (Berry Events Center) – Bemidji State University and Northern Michigan University played 65 minutes without a goal as the Beavers and Wildcats settled for a draw and each earned a point in the WCHA standings.

For just the second time in 60 years of Beaver Hockey, BSU finishes a game locked in a scoreless tie. The only other occurrence came in Kalamazoo, Mich. versus Western Michigan University, Jan. 2, 2010.

Bemidji State out shot NMU 46-22 in the game but was unable to beat reigning WCHA Rookie of the Week Atte Tolvanen, who turned aside 46 shots to gain the shutout. On the other end of the ice, Michael Bitzer turned aside each of NSU’s 22 shots for his first shout of the season.

In addition to Bitzer’s flawless effort between the pipes, BSU’s team defense came up with 15 blocked shots.

The Beavers’ penalty kill unit got back on track holding NMU scoreless on four power-play opportunities after allowing to goals on five opportunities in the team’s last outing. On the flip side, the Beaver power-play unit was held without a goal on five chances despite peppering Tolvanen with 22 shots on net during the man advantage.

The Beavers cling to a slight edge in the BSU/NMU all-time series, holding a 5-3-3 record versus the Wildcats dating back to 2009, which includes a unblemished 3-0-2 mark in games played at Berry Events Center.

BSU, now 1-3-2 overall and 0-2-1 in WCHA play, looks to win the series tomorrow at 6:07 p.m. (CST) when it again battles Northern Michigan (2-2-3; 1-1-1 WCHA).

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.