Beavers drop Lakers, 2-1, in series opener

February 12, 20161st2nd3rdFinal
Bemidji State1012
Lake Superior State1001
Scoring Summary
102:51BSUParker, John (Beauvais, Brett )
107:48LSSUJake Hand (Anthony Nellis , Mitch Hults)
308:15BSUHarms, Brendan (Bauman, Kyle , Fitzgerald, Myles)
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
BSUBitzer, Michael60:001025
LSSUGordon Defiel59:022025
Statistical ComparisonBSULSSU
Shots on Goal2726
Power Plays1-60-3
Beavers drop Lakers, 2-1, in series opener
Friday, February 12, 2016
Beavers drop Lakers, 2-1, in series opener

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. (Taffy Abel Arena) -- Brendan Harms scored a power-play goal with 11:45 to go in the third period to break a 1-1 and give the Bemidji State University men's hockey team 2-1 victory to open a WCHA series at Lake Superior State University.

The Beavers bookended the game with goals, while Michael Bitzer stopped 25-of-26 shots faced. BSU improved to 13-11-5 overall and 8-9-4 in league play and will go for the series sweep and a season series win (2-1-1) tomorrow when it faces the Lakers (9-18-4; 6-11-4 WCHA) at 6:07 p.m.

John Parker got the Beavers on the board, netting his eighth goal of the year just 2:51 into the first period. The Beavers' 1-0 lead came on their first shot on goal of the game.

Before the end of the period, the Lakers would match the score on a goal by Jake Hand (7:48).

The score would remain the same deep into the third period.

At the 8:04 mark of the third, Aiden Wright was whistled for cross-checking, setting BSU up with its fifth power-play opportunity of the game. It took the Beavers just 11 seconds to make the Lakers pay. Brendan Harms scored his fifth goal of the season with help from Kyle Bauman and Myles Fitzgerald.

The BSU penalty-kill unit continued to be a driving force as it held LSSU without a goal on three opportunities.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.