WCHA coaches, league media tab Bemidji State sixth in preseason polls

WCHA coaches, league media tab Bemidji State sixth in preseason polls
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
WCHA coaches, league media tab Bemidji State sixth in preseason polls

EDINA, Minn. – Western Collegiate Hockey Association coaches, along with the league’s media, have picked the Bemidji State University men’s hockey team to finish sixth in the Mankato Free Press Western Collegiate Hockey Association Coaches’ and Bemidji Pioneer WCHA Media preseason polls.

Bowling Green State University was picked to dethrone the reigning MacNaughton Cup and three-time defending Broadmoor Trophy champions, Minnesota State University, Mankato in both polls. The Falcons collected eight of the 10 possible first-place votes from the league’s coaches and 15-of-28 first-place votes from media around the league.

The same four schools – Bowling Green (first), Michigan Tech (second), Minnesota State (third) and Ferris State University (fourth) – finished 1-4 in both the coaches’ and media polls. Northern Michigan University, Bemidji State and Lake Superior State University occupied the fifth, sixth and seventh positions in both ledgers. The coaches slotted University of Alaska Anchorage to finish eighth and University of Alaska 10th, while the media picked the teams in the opposite order and University of Alabama-Huntsville was sandwiched in between in both polls.
Ferris State senior forward Gerald Mayhew was selected as the league’s Preseason Player of the Year by WCHA coaches and media after tallying 41 points (16g-25a) overall to lead the Falcons in scoring, while tying for third in the WCHA with 25 points (9-g-16a) in league play.

Ferris State defender Cameron Clarke (media) and Minnesota State forward Parker Tuomie (coaches’) split the Preseason Player of the Year votes.
2016-17 Mankato Free Press WCHA Men’s Hockey Preseason Coaches’ Poll
Rk             Team (1st place votes)          Points
1.        Bowling Green (8)                         89
2.        Michigan Tech (2)                         79
3.        Minnesota State         71
4.        Ferris State                               70
5.        Northern Michigan                        54
6.        Bemidji State                            48
7.        Lake Superior State                    44
8.        Alaska Anchorage                       29
9.        Alabama Huntsville                      23
10.      Alaska                                  21
Predicted order of finish. Based on a 9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale. Coaches could not vote for their own teams.
Preseason WCHA Player of the Year
Gerald Mayhew, Sr. F, Ferris State  (7 votes)
Others receiving votes: Mark Friedman, Jr. D, Bowling Green (1); Brandon Hawkins, Jr. F, Bowling Green (1); Chris Nell, Jr. F, Bowling Green (1).
Preseason WCHA Rookie of the Year
Parker Tuomie, F, Minnesota State (4 votes)

Others receiving votes: Cam Clarke, D, Ferris State (2); Colton Leiter, F, Alaska (1); Marc Michaelis, F, Minnesota State (1); Collin Peters, F, Northern Michigan (1); Angus Redmond, G, Michigan Tech (1).
Preseason All-WCHA Team
Gerald Mayhew, Sr., Ferris State; Dominik Shine, Sr., Northern Michigan; Brandon Hawkins, Jr., Bowling Green (tie); Corey Mackin, So., Ferris State (tie)

Mark Friedman, Jr., Bowling Green; Matt Roy, Jr., Michigan Tech

Chris Nell, Jr., Bowling Green

Others receiving votes: Forwards-Gerry Fitzgerald, Jr., Bemidji State; C.J. Franklin, Jr., Minnesota State; Brendan Harms, Tyler Heinonen, Sr., Michigan Tech; Sr., BSU; Joel L'Esperance, Jr., Michigan Tech. Defensemen-Mark Auk, Jr., Michigan Tech; Daniel Brickley, So., Minnesota State; Shane Hanna, Sr., Michigan Tech; Sean Walker, Sr., Bowling Green. Goaltenders-Michael Bitzer, Jr., Bemidji State; Gordon Defiel, Jr., Lake Superior State; Cole Huggins, Sr., Minnesota State; Darren Smith, So., Ferris State.

2016-17 Bemidji Pioneer WCHA Men’s Hockey Preseason Media Poll
Rk             Team (1st place votes)          Points
1.              Bowling Green (15)            251
2.              Michigan Tech (6)             239
3.              Minnesota State (5)            236
4.              Ferris State (2)                  218
5.              Northern Michigan                            161
6.              Bemidji State                 144
7.              Lake Superior State           106
8.              Alaska                               68
9.              Alabama Huntsville          66
10.            Alaska Anchorage              50
Predicted order of finish. Based on a 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale.

Preseason WCHA Player of the Year
Gerald Mayhew, Sr., F, Ferris State

Others receiving votes: Dominik Shine, Sr., F, Northern Michigan; Sean Walker, Sr., D, Bowling Green; Cameron Clarke, Fr., D, Ferris State; Mason Mitchell, So., F, Alaska Anchorage; Corey Mackin, So., F, Ferris State; Max McHugh, Jr., F, Alabama Huntsville; Chris Nell, Jr., G, Bowling Green; Cole Huggins, Sr., G, Minnesota State; Tyler Heinonen, Sr., F, Michigan Tech

Preseason WCHA Rookie of the Year
Cameron Clarke, D, Ferris State

Others receiving votes: Parker Tuomie, F, Minnesota State; Hampus Sjodahl, F, Bemidji State; Alec Rauhauser, Bowling Green; Frederic Letourneau, Bowling Green; Max Humitz, Lake Superior State; Brayden Gelsinger, Lake Superior State; Thomas Beretta, Michigan Tech ; Mitch Reinke, Michigan Tech; Casey Linkenheld, Bowling Green; Adam Brady, Bemidji State; Connor James, Alabama Huntsville; Austin Beaulieu, Alabamkaa Huntsville.

Preseason All-WCHA Team
Gerald Mayhew, Ferris State; Dominik Shine, Northern Michigan; Tyler Heinonen, Michigan Tech
Mark Friedman, Bowling Green; Matt Roy, Michigan Tech
Chris Nell, Bowling Green
Bemidji State, the consensus preseason pick to earn sixth place in the upcoming WCHA regular season, finished 2015-16 with a 17-16-6 overall record and posted an 11-12-5 mark in WCHA play to finish sixth in the league. The Beavers closed the 2015-16 season by going 11-5-3 over its final 19 regular-season games, which included wins over No. 14 Michigan Tech and No. 16 Minnesota State down the stretch. BSU drew a first round WCHA Playoff series at Bowling Green, and despite winning the first game of the series, was eliminated from the three-game series, dropping the final two games.

BSU opens its 2016-17 home slate Oct. 7 and 8 when it hosts the Falcons in a two-game series to begin the WCHA season. Both games are set to get underway at 7:07 p.m. at Sanford Center.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers or @BSUMHockey), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).

(Portions of this release courtesy the WCHA)