ACHA names Serratore a finalist for national coach of the year

ACHA names Serratore a finalist for national coach of the year
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
ACHA names Serratore a finalist for national coach of the year

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – Bemidji State University Head Coach Tom Serratore has been named as a finalist for the 2016-17 Spencer Penrose Award. Now in his 16th season at the helm of the Beaver Hockey program, this marks the sixth time Serratore has been up for the award annually given to the NCAA Division I hockey coach of the year.

The reigning WCHA Coach of the Year, Serratore led the Beavers to their first 20-win season since 2009-10 and BSU’s 22nd regular-season conference title. Serratore’s Beavers posted a 22-16-3 overall record in 2016-17 en route to leading the WCHA from wire to wire. BSU recorded a 20-6-2-2 record in league play, including a 13-game WCHA unbeaten streak (11-0-2), to earn possession of the coveted MacNaughton Cup as the WCHA regular-season champion. It marked BSU’s regular-season title since joining the league prior to the 2010-11 campaign.

At the conclusion of the season, BSU had five individuals recognized for postseason awards including Michael Bitzer, who earned the league’s top honor as the WCHA Player of the Year.

A 1987 graduate of Bemidji State, Serratore is 266-256-70 as head coach of the Beavers and ranks second on BSU’s all-time coaching victories list.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs, Colo. benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The AHCA Coach of the Year Award is chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association and sponsored by CCM. Voting will be conducted prior to this year's Frozen Four in Chicago and the winner will be announced April 5. The actual award will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, April 26.

In addition to Serratore, the 2016-17 Spenser Penrose finalists include: Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell; Rick Bennett, Union; Ted Donato, Harvard; Tony Granato, Wisconsin; Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame; Jim Montgomery, Denver; Andy Murray, Western Michigan; Scott Sandelin, Minnesota Duluth; and Dave Smith, Canisius.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers @BSUBeaversmhky), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).