Bemidji State’s Combs named WCHA Rookie of the Week

Bemidji State’s Combs named WCHA Rookie of the Week
Monday, November 27, 2017
Bemidji State’s Combs named WCHA Rookie of the Week

EDINA, Minn. – Bemidji State University forward Charlie Combs has been selected as the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Rookie of the Week for his role in Beavers’ series at Princeton University, Nov. 22 and 24.

Combs collected the first multi-goal game of his career, including the game-winner, as Bemidji State earned a 5-3, non-conference road win Wednesday at Princeton. The freshman from St. Louis, Mo. tied the contest at 1-1 just 3:49 into the first period, then put the Beavers ahead, 4-2, at the 4:25 mark of the second period. The only WCHA rookie with two goals last week, Combs was tied for second nationally among first-year skaters. He finished the series with seven shots on goal and a plus-2 rating.

This is the first WCHA weekly award of Combs’ career and the fourth of the 2017-18 season for Bemidji State. The rookie follows Michael Bitzer, the Oct. 16 and 30 Goaltender of the Week selection, and Gerry Fitzgerald, who was picked for the league’s Offensive Player of the Week Nov. 6.

In addition to Combs, Ferris State University senior Mitch Maloney won the league’s Offensive Player of the Week award, FSU senior Tyler Dorantes got the nod for the WCHA Defensive Player of the Week and Michigan Tech junior Patrick Munson was tabbed as the league’s Goaltender of the Week.

The Beavers, now 5-5-2 overall remain on the road and turn their focus back to WCHA play, where they are 2-3-1-1. BSU will travel to Bowling Green, Ohio for a two-game series at Bowling Green State University, Dec. 1-2. Friday's game is scheduled for a 6:37 p.m. (CST) opening face off and Saturday's start is set for 6:07 p.m.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.