Bemidji State leads WCHA with 25 Scholar-Athlete honorees

Bemidji State leads WCHA with 25 Scholar-Athlete honorees
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Bemidji State leads WCHA with 25 Scholar-Athlete honorees

EDINA, Minn. -- The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, through Northern Michigan University President Dr. Fritz Erickson (Chair, Men’s League) and Bemidji State University Director of Athletics Tracy Dill (Chair, Women’s League), along with Commissioners Bill Robertson (Men’s League) and Katie Million (Women’s League), today announced that 141 conference-member student-athletes make up the 13th annual group of WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipients for 2017-18.

Bemidji State's men's (13) and women's (12) teams led their respective league's land combined for a WCHA-best 25 student-athletes honored on the list.

“On behalf of the entire Western Collegiate Hockey Association family, we extend our sincere congratulations to all our men’s and women’s WCHA Scholar-Athletes for 2017-18,” said Dr. Erickson, Dill, Robertson and Million in a joint statement. “We are lucky to have a truly exceptional group of young men and women attending our institutions and competing in our conference. Our Scholar-Athlete Award recipients are a testament to the very best of the student-athlete ideal, showcasing exemplary effort and dedication to all facets of the university experience.

“We are thrilled to publicly recognize the terrific academic accomplishments of these 141 student-athletes, who have maintained high standards in their studies while competing at the top level of collegiate hockey. Similarly, we salute the successful commitment of our member institutions to the WCHA mission of providing the very best experience, both on and off the ice. Each WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipient is a wonderful representative of the Association and its schools; we commend and applaud them all.”

The prestigious WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through Association member faculty representatives and approved by the conference membership beginning with the 2005-06 season.

To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, conference-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his or her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

Over the 13 years of the award, there have now been more than 1,100 WCHA Scholar-Athlete honorees representing every men's and women's conference-member institution. Seventy-eight of this season's 141 recipients are repeat honorees, with 30 of those now being three-time honorees.

In addition, the University of Minnesota’s Sidney Peters and Michigan Technological University’s Brent Baltus are now four-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award honorees. In the 13-year history of the award, there have been only 15 such student-athletes, including former Beaver Reid Mimmack (2013-17).

BSU players recognized as 2017-18 WCHA Scholar-Athletes are: Justin Baudry** (Jr., D, LaBroquerie, Manitoba); Kyle Bauman*** (Sr., F, Apopka, Fla.); Lauren Bench (RS-Fr., G, Eagan, Minn.); Emily Bergland** (Jr., F, Thief River Falls, Minn.); Dan Billett** (Jr., D, Higlands Ranch, Colorado); Michael Bitzer*** (Sr., G, Moorhead, Minn.); Adam Brady (So., F, Delhi, Ontario); Jack Burgadt (Sr., G, Fort St. James, British Columbiia); Erin Deters** (Sr., G, Sartell, Minn.); Dillon Eichstadt** (Jr., D, Bemidji, Minn.); Reilly Fawcett*** (Sr., F, Proctor, Minn.); Myes Fitzgerald (Sr., F, Port Alberni, British Columbia); Abby Halluska (So., F, Delano, Minn.); Ian Janco** (Jr., D, Bloomington, Minn.); Alexis Joyce*** (Sr., D, Lakeville, Minn.); Jacqueline Kaasa (So., F, North Hudson, Wis.); Haley Mack (Sr., F, East Grand Forks, N.D.); Sylvia Marolt (Jr., F, Thief River Falls, Minn.); Tommy Muck (So., D, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.); Kiki Radke (So., F, Hastings, Minn.); TJ Roo** (Jr., F, Champlin, Minn.); Hampus Sjödahl (So., F, Stockholm, Sweden); Emma Terres*** (Sr., F, New Hope. Minn.); Summer Thibodeau*** (Sr., F, Maple Grove, Minn.); Zach Whitecloud (So., Brandon, Manitoba).

(** indicates two-time recipient, *** indicates three-time recipient)

For more information on the Bemidji State athletics programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).

(Portions of the release courtesy of