Bemidji State’s Looft earns WCHA Defensive Player of the Week award

Bemidji State’s Looft earns WCHA Defensive Player of the Week award
Monday, November 11, 2019
Bemidji State’s Looft earns WCHA Defensive Player of the Week award

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Bemidji State University freshman defender Kyle Looft been selected for a Western Collegiate Hockey Association weekly honor for his role in Beavers’ WCHA series sweep over Lake Superior State University, Nov. 8-9. It marks Looft’s first player of the week award and the first of the 2019-20 season for the Beavers.

Looft,  freshman, recorded his first collegiate points in the Beavers’ 7-1, series-opening victory over Lake Superior State Friday. The Mankato, Minn. native posted a pair of assists, including a helper on the game-winning goal, as BSU scored seven goals for the first time since the 2009-10 season. Despite playing just one game in the series, Looft finished the weekend third among WCHA rookies in scoring on the weekend and second among defenders. IN addition, he recorded a blocked shot, a shot on goal and logged a +3 plus/minus rating.

In addition to Looft, Northern Michigan University’s Vincent de Mey was named Forward of the Week and André Ghantous earned the Rookie of the Week nod, while Minnesota State University, Mankato Dryden McKay was selected as the league’s Goaltender of the Week.

The Beavers, now 3-3-2 overall and 3-1-0-0 in league play, hit the road next week for a two-game WCHA series in Big Rapids, Mich. The Beavers will go toe-to-toe with Ferris State University (2-6-0; 0-4-0-0 WCHA) beginning Friday at 6:07 p.m. and again Saturday at 5:07 p.m. from Ewigleben Ice Arena.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletics programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.