Ten Bemidji State men’s hockey players earn WCHA Scholar-Athlete laurels

Ten Bemidji State men’s hockey players earn WCHA Scholar-Athlete laurels
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Ten Bemidji State men’s hockey players earn WCHA Scholar-Athlete laurels

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. -- The Western Collegiate Hockey Association today announced that 92 conference-member student-athletes make up the 2019-20 WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipients. Ten of BSU’s 27 players earned the prestigious award for outstanding achievement in the classroom.

“I want to extend congratulations to our 2019-20 WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award winners on behalf of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association,” WCHA President and Men’s League Commissioner Bill Robertson said. “I’m excited to publicly recognize the academic excellence of our 92 student-athletes who have maintained an elite level of excellence in the classroom while competing at the top level of college hockey. All of our recipients are tremendous representatives of the Association and our schools.”

Bemidji State's 10 selections men ranked third in the league. The Minnesota State University, Mankato had a WCHA-best 12 student-athletes qualify for the recognition, while Bowling Green State University (11), University of Alaska Anchorage (11), BSU (10) and Lake Superior State University (10) also had ten-or-more recipients.

The prestigious WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through Association member faculty representatives and approved by the conference membership beginning with the 2005-06 season.

To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, conference-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his or her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

Over the 15 years of the award, there have now been more than 1,200 WCHA Scholar-Athlete honorees representing every men's and women's conference-member institution. Forty-one of this season's 92 recipients are repeat honorees, with 13 of those now being three-time honorees, which includes BSU’s Adam Brady and Tommy Muck.

BSU players recognized as 201-209 WCHA Scholar-Athletes are: Alex Adams (So., F, Grand Rapids, Minn.); Adam Brady*** (Sr., F, Delhi, Ontario); Zach Driscoll (Jr., G, Apple Valley, Minn.); Darby Gula (So., D, Steinbach, Man.); Henry Johnson* (Jr., G, Minneapolis, Minn.); Tyler Jubenvill (So., D, Gilbert Plains, Man.); Tyler Kirkup (So., F, Virden, Man.); Tommy Muck*** (Sr., D, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.); Hampus Sjödahl** (Sr., F, Stockholm, Sweden); and Ethan Somoza (So., F, Simi Valley, Calif.).

(** indicates two-time recipient, *** indicates three-time recipient)

For more information on the Bemidji State athletics programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).