Serratore named among finalists for Spenser Penrose Award

Serratore named among finalists for Spenser Penrose Award
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Serratore named among finalists for Spenser Penrose Award

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – Bemidji State University Men’s Hockey Head Coach Tom Serratore has been named among the nine finalists for the 2019-20 Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the CCM/American Hockey Coaches Association Division I Men’s Hockey Coach of the Year.

The 2019-20 Western Collegiate Hockey Association Coach of the Year, Serratore led the Beavers to a runner-up finish in the WCHA regular season and a berth in the semifinals of the WCHA Postseason before the 2019-20 season was cut short due to concerns of the spread of the COVID-19 virus. Bemidji State was No. 11 in the final national poll and finished the season at 22-10-5 to reach the 20-win mark for the sixth time in the Division I history of the program and fall just one win shy of the program’s all-time NCAA Division I-era single-season high of 23, established in 2004-05 and equaled in 2009-10. With a 20-5-3-2 mark in WCHA play, the Beavers also matched a program record of 20 WCHA victories originally set in 2016-17, a season capped by a WCHA regular-season title.

At the conclusion of the season, BSU had five individuals recognized for postseason awards including Adam Brady, who earned recognition as First Team All-WCHA, while Elias Rosén was selected to the WCHA All-Rookie team and earned Third Team recognition.

A 1987 graduate of Bemidji State, Serratore is 319-297-89  as head coach of the Beavers and ranks second on BSU’s all-time coaching victories list.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs, Colo. benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The AHCA Coach of the Year Award is chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association and sponsored by CCM and will announced April 7.

In addition to Serratore, the 2019-20 Spenser Penrose finalists include: Brad Barry, North Dakota; Red Gendron, Maine; Mike Hastings, Minnesota State; Eric Lang, American International; Bob Motzko, Minnesota; Greg Powers, Arizona State; Scott Sandelin, Minnesota Duluth; and Mike Schafer, Cornell.

This marks the seventh time that Serratore has been included among the finalists for the award, including 2008-09 when he earned recognition as the runner-up.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).