Bemidji State unveils 2020-21 men’s hockey schedule
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Bemidji State unveils 2020-21 men’s hockey schedule

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Eighteen regular-season home games, including non-conference contests with the University of North Dakota, St. Cloud State University and the University of Minnesota Duluth, highlight Bemidji State University’s 38-game 2020-21 men’s ice hockey schedule. The announcement came in conjunction with the release of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association’s upcoming 140-game regular-season schedule.

In addition to the Beavers’ 28-game WCHA slate, BSU has 10 nonconference contests, which are highlighted by a road trip to 3M Arena at Mariucci to battle Minnesota, a trio of home-and-home series with reginal rivals North Dakota, St. Cloud State and Minnesota Duluth and a trip to the east coast to face Merrimack College and the University of Massachusetts-Lowell on their home ice sheets. An exhibition versus the United States Under-18 Team has also been added to the upcoming home schedule.

The Beavers break the seal on their 65th season of play Oct. 3, when they travel to Minneapolis for a single non-conference contest versus the Golden Gophers. The following weekend, BSU opens its home schedule with the front end of a home-and-home series with North Dakota. The Beavers will make the return trip to Grand Forks, N.D. the following evening.

Bemidji State begins WCHA play Oct. 16-17 when it welcomes Michigan Technological University to Sanford Center for a pair of league matchups.

A trip to Marquette, Mich. Oct. 30 opens a four-game road swing for BSU. After back-to-back WCHA games at Northern Michigan University, Oct. 30-31, the Beavers travel to Anchorage, Alaska for a two-game set versus the University of Alaska Anchorage to open play in November, Nov. 6-7.

The Beavers return to Bemidji Nov. 13-14, after nearly a month away. Long-time rival Minnesota State University, Mankato kicks off a four-game stretch of interstate rivalries, while the series versus the Mavericks wraps up a string of eight WCHA contests.

BSU shifts its focus to non-conference play for the remainder of November. BSU will host St. Cloud State to open a home-and-home series Nov. 20 and will make the trip to St. Cloud, Minn. the following night. That return trip also begins the Beavers’ longest road stretch of 2020-21. Following a game at SCSU, the Beavers will travel east to match up with Merrimack College Nov. 27 and UMass-Lowell Nov. 28. The matchup with the River Hawks in Lowell, Mass. Will mark the first meeting between the teams. BSU will remain on the road Dec. 4-5 when it travels to Huntsville, Ala. for its only regular-season meeting of 2020-21 with the University of Alabama-Huntsville.

December 11-12 the Beavers return to Sanford Center to welcome Ferris State University for a two-game WCHA series. After more than two weeks off, BSU will host the USA Hockey National Development Under-18 Team for an exhibition game Dec. 28. Just three days later, BSU will be at it again when it hosts Minnesota Duluth in the last game of the 2020 calendar year. The Bulldogs will host BSU Jan. 2 to open 2021 and wrap up the home-and-home in BSU’s final non-conference contest of the 2020-21 schedule.

After a road trip to Bowling Green State University Jan. 8-9, BSU will be back home for its only WCHA regular-season matchup with Lake Superior State University Jan. 29-30.

The beginning of February brings with it a second trip to the The Last Frontier. This time the Beavers will travel to Fairbanks, Alaska for a two-game WCHA series with the University of Alaska. Then it is back to Sanford Center for a four-game homestand to kickstart the stretch run of the WCHA regular season. BSU first hosts Northern Michigan Feb. 12-13 before welcoming Bowling Green to Bemidji Feb. 19-20.

Bemidji State concludes the 2020-21 regular season Feb. 26-27 with a trip to Mankato, Minn. to go head-to-head with the 2019-20 WCHA regular-season champion Mavericks.

The WCHA playoffs begin March 5-7 with the top eight teams playing best-of-three quarterfinal series at the home sites of the top four seeds. The semifinal round, March 12-14, will again feature a best-of-three series on the campuses of the top two remaining seeds with the winners advancing to a single-game conference title game for the WCHA Playoff title and an automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament on the home ice of the highest remaining seed March 20.

The NCAA Tournament opens the weekend of March 26-28.  Advancing teams will be seeded in any of the four regional sites, which include Bridgeport, Conn., Manchester, N.H., Fargo, N.D., and Loveland, Colo.

After a weekend off the ice, the four regional championship teams will participate in the Frozen Four, which will take place April 8 and 10 at PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh, Pa.

The Beavers, 22-10-5 overall, finished the 2019-20 regular season second in the WCHA standings going 20-5-3-2 versus league competition. BSU clinched the No. 2 seed in the league’s postseason tournament and defeated Lake Superior State University in a best-of-three quarterfinal playoff series before the season was cut short due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Following the season, senior forward Adam Brady became just the second BSU player to be selected First Team All-WCHA to headline a group of five Beavers that received All-WCHA honors, including Third Team All-WCHA pick and All-Rookie Team selection Elias Rosén and Second Team picks Owen Sillinger and Zach Driscoll.

The 2020-21 men’s hockey season ticket renewal/purchase process will get underway in June.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers or @BSUMHockey), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).