Bemidji State Hockey has 23 named to all-America scholar list

Bemidji State Hockey has 23 named to all-America scholar list
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Bemidji State Hockey has 23 named to all-America scholar list

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – Twenty-three Bemidji State University men’s and women’s hockey players have been selected by the American Hockey Coaches Association to the Division I Krampade All-American Scholars list for 2019-20. With eight men and 15 women selected for the honor, Bemidji State teams combined for a Western Collegiate Hockey Association-best 23 student-athletes recognized.

"These are exceptional individuals," said AHCA executive director Joe Bertagna. "The sport demands a great deal from these athletes so it is a great statement they make, individually and collectively, with their ability to attain this level of academic achievement while contributing at the NCAA Division I level."

To be eligible for the AHCA Division I Krampade All-American Scholar list, typically student-athletes must maintain a 3.6 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and have participated in at least 40-percent of their respective team’s games. Due to the effects of COVID-19 on the end of the 2019-20 season and the spring semester, the AHCA adopted revised criteria for this year's honorees. To qualify, a student-athlete must have attained a 3.75 GPA for the fall semester and participated in 40% of their school's played games. 

Now in the fourth year of the award, 571 Division I men and women from NCAA Division II to III were recognized for academic excellence in 2019-20. Within the WCHA, the AHCA and Krampade selected a total of 109 student-athletes representing all 17 WCHA programs. The Bemidji State women led the league with 15 of their 27 student-athletes eligible to receive the 2019-20 award.

BSU student-athletes recognized as 2019-20 AHCA Krampade All-American Scholars were: Alex Adams (So., F, Grand Rapids, Minn.); Lauren Bench (RS-Jr., G, Eagan, Minn.);  Clair DeGeorge (Jr., F, Anchorage, Alaska); Abigail DeLaRosa (Fr., D, Hugo, Minn.); Zach Driscoll (Jr., G, Apple Valley, Minn.); Lindsey Featherstone (Jr., F, Woodbury, Minn.); Reece Hunt (Fr., D, Nelson, British Columbia); Kyle Looft (Fr., D, Mankato, Minn.); Brianne Jorde (Sr., D, Thief River Falls, Minn.); Tina Kampa (Jr., F, Maple Grove, Minn.); Mak Langei (Jr., D, East Grand Forks, Minn.); Haley Mack (Sr., F, East Grand Forks, Minn.); Ellie Moser (So., F, Farmington, Minn.); Graysen Myers (So., F, Fargo, N.D.); Tommy Muck (Sr., D, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.); Heather Olson (Sr., D, Bemidji, Minn.); Kiki Radke (Sr., F, Hastings, Minn.); Elias Rosén (Fr., D, Mora, Sweden); Hampus Sjödahl (Sr., F, Stockholm, Sweden); Ethan Somoza (Jr., F, Simi Valley, Calif.); Claudia Verkerke (So., F, White Bear Lake, Minn.);  Kara Werth (So., D, Moorhead, Minn.) and Will Zmolek (Fr., D, Rochester, Minn.).

Krampade, LLC, is a Lincoln, Nebraska-based company focused on mitigating and preventing cramp formation, while enhancing performance using its patent-pending formulations. The beauty of Krampade® is the depth and breadth of its consumer base, which translates into helping a lot of people resolve their issues with cramping in an effective, cost-efficient manner. Their website is

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).