Bemidji State opens 2020-21 campaign at No. 16 in poll

Bemidji State opens 2020-21 campaign at No. 16 in poll
Monday, October 26, 2020
Bemidji State opens 2020-21 campaign at No. 16 in poll

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University men’s hockey team opens the 2020-21 season ranked No. 16 in Preseason Division I Men’s Hockey Poll. The Beavers, who finished the 2019-20 ranked No. 11 at 22-10-5, were one of two Western Collegiate Hockey Association member teams to appear in the initial national poll of the season. 

The Beavers earned the No. 16 billing with 237 points to finish four votes behind Arizona State University in 15th place and  543 points out of first place. The University of North Dakota garnered 780 points, which included 28-of-40 first-place votes to hold a 70-point advantage over Boston College (710), which opens the season second.

Finding its way into the top 20 teams in the country for the initial release of the first poll of the season extends the Beavers’ run in the poll to eight weeks dating back to Jan. 27, 2020 when BSU earned 91 points to sneak into the top-20 at No. 19. BSU’s eight-poll run among the top 20 marks the 205th time BSU has appeared in the national poll, while it stands as the 56th week BSU has been ranked.

The WCHA was also represented in the Preseason Poll by Minnesota State University, Mankato, which garnered 635 points and one first-place vote points to sit No. 4 in the nation.

The Beavers anxiously await the start of the 2020-21 season. After seeing its 22-10-5, 2019-20 season cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the WCHA has delayed the start of the 2020-21 campaign. An announcement about the upcoming schedule is expected from the league by Nov. 1.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.