Beavers defeat No. 6 Bowling Green in overtime

January 08, 20211st2nd3rdOTFinal
Bemidji St.02114
Bowling Green20103
Scoring Summary
116:28BGSFyten, Seth (Scardina, Ethan , Collin, Chrystopher)
119:08.0BGSKruse, Brandon
200:47BSUSillinger, Owen (Rosen, Elias , Sillinger, Lukas)
203:26BSUGula, Darby (Johnson, Brad , Adams, Alex)
303:28BSUMiller, Aaron (Rosen, Elias , Ierullo, Alex)
311:12BGSDougherty, Evan (Collin, Chrystopher , Daly, Garrett)
400:13BSUSomoza, Ethan (Harris, Brendan , Vold, Tyler)
Shootout Summary
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
BSUEnright, Gavin00:00000
BSUDriscoll, Zach60:133026
BSUCarr, Michael00:00000
BGSDop, Eric60:134032
BGSRich, Brett00:00000
BGSRose, Zack00:00000
Statistical ComparisonBSUBGS
Shots on Goal3629
Power Plays1-50-6
Beavers defeat No. 6 Bowling Green in overtime
Friday, January 8, 2021
Beavers defeat No. 6 Bowling Green in overtime

BOWLING GREEN, Ohio (Slater Family Ice Arena) -- The Bemidji State University men's hockey team found itself locked in a 3-3 tie after 60 minutes of play Friday, but it would take senior captain Ethan Somoza just 13 seconds to tilt the Western Collegiate Hockey Association contest in BSU's favor beating the Bowling Green State University goaltender on the second shot in 3-on-3 play to win the game, 4-3, and split the series with the Falcons.

The victory over No. 6 Bowling Green stands as the Beavers’ first over a ranked opponent this season and snaps the Falcons’ nine-game winning streak.

Slow out of the gates, BSU found itself down 2-0 after the first period of play. Aided by a pair of power-play opportunities, Bowling Green outshot the Beavers 12-6 in the first. Seth Fyten broke the scoreless tie at the 16:28 mark, netting an even-strength goal with help from Ethan Scardina and Chrystopher Collin. Brandon Kruse added an unassisted goal at the 19:08 mark to send the Falcons to the locker room at the break with a two-goal cushion.

As quickly as the Beavers found themselves in a 2-0 hole to end the first period, they evened the score in the second. BSU opened the period with 1:44 of power-play time and just 47 seconds after the puck dropped, Owen Sillinger found the back of the net with his second goal of the weekend to cut the deficit in half, 1-0. At the 3:26 mark, rookie Eric Martin scored an even-strength goal to pull the Beavers even with the nationally-ranked Falcons. It was his first collegiate goal.

The score remained 2-2 into the third period, but senior forward Aaron Miller was on the back door to tap in a rebound off an Elias Rosén shot to give the Beavers their first lead of the series, 3-2 at the 3:28 mark.

Bowling Green came back to tie the score with 8:48 to play on a goal off the stick of Evan Dougherty that would eventually push the game to overtime.

In its third overtime game just nine games into the 2020-21 season, BSU has played its two previous contests to a draw before dropping the shootout.  The Beavers didn't let it get that far Friday. BSU won the opening faceoff, Brendan Harris got a shot on goal six seconds in and then would stickhandle around the zone and find Somoza for the game-winner.

In addition to getting a power-play goal for the second consecutive game and finish the night 1-for-5 on the man advantage, the Beavers' penalty-kill unit was flawless snuffing out all six of the Falcons' man advantage opportunities.

Senior goaltender Zach Driscoll earned his third victory of the season in net (3-4-2), turning aside 26 of the 29 shots he faced.

The Beavers, now 3-4-2 overall and 1-1-0-0 in WCHA play, return to Sanford Center for the first time since Dec. 12-13 to host long-time rival University of Alabama-Huntsville next weekend.  The WCHA series will get underway with a 7:07 p.m. opening faceoff Friday and a 6:07 p.m. puck drop Saturday.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).