Bemidji State hockey has 29 named to All-America Scholar list

Bemidji State hockey has 29 named to All-America Scholar list
Friday, July 23, 2021
Bemidji State hockey has 29 named to All-America Scholar list

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – Twenty-nine Bemidji State University men’s and women’s hockey players have been selected by the American Hockey Coaches Association to the Division I Krampade All-American Scholars list for 2020-21. With 10 BSU men recognized for the award, a Western Collegiate Hockey Association-best 19 BSU women were tabbed for the honor.

To be eligible for the AHCA Division I Krampade All-American Scholar list, student-athletes must maintain a 3.6 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and be a member of a collegiate team. Typically the award is reserved for those who compete in 40-percent of their team’s games, but that criteria was waived due to the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on the 2020-21 season.

“We made a decision to include all hockey players who met the academic standard, whether their team was allowed to play or not,” said AHCA executive director Joe Bertagna. “Those who were denied a chance to compete have already been disadvantaged and we did not want to add to their situation.”

Now in the fifth year of the award, a record 917 Division I men and women were recognized for academic excellence in 2020-20. Within the WCHA, the AHCA and Krampade selected a total of 181 student-athletes representing all 17 WCHA programs with 81 representing the seven-team women’s league and 100 identified from the 10 member teams in the final year of the men’s league. The Bemidji State women led the league with 19 of their 26 student-athletes eligible to receive the 2020-21 award. The BSU contingent was highlighted by Mak Langei and Zach Driscoll, the WCHA women’s league and men’s league Student Athlete of the Year, respectively, earning recognition on the team.

BSU players recognized as 2020-21 AHCA Krampade All-American Scholars were: Cheyenne Abear (So., F, Brainerd, Minn.); Paige Anderson (So., F, Andover, Minn.); Alex Adams (Jr., F, Grand Rapids, Minn.); Clair DeGeorge (Sr., F, Anchorage, Alaska); Abby DeLaRosa (So., D, Hugo, Minn.); Zach Driscoll (Sr., G, Apple Valley, Minn.); Kerigan Dowhy (Sr., G, The Pas, Manitoba); Abby Ecker (R-Jr., D, Grey Eagle, Minn.); Gavin Enright (Fr., G, Farmington, Minn.); Lindsey Featherstone (Sr., F, Woodbury, Minn.);  Hannah Hogenson (Fr., G, Anchorage, Alaska); Reece Hunt (So., F, Nelson, British Columbia); Austin Jouppi (Fr., F, Duluth, Minn.); Tyler Jubinvill (Jr., D, Gilbert Plains, Manitoba); Tina Kampa (Sr., D, Maple Grove, Minn.); Mak Langei (Sr., D, East Grand Forks, Minn.); Kyle Looft (So., D, Mankato, Minn.); Ellie Moser (Jr., F, Farmington, Minn.); Aaron Myers (Fr., F, Thief River Falls, Minn.); Graysen Myers (Jr., F, Fargo, N.D.); Taylor Nelson (Fr., F, Carlton, Minn.); Mya Neugent (So., F, Sun Prairie, Wis.); Jack Powell (Fr., D, Alexandria, Minn.); Elias Rosen (So., D, Mora, Sweden); Kayla Santl (Fr., F, Roseau, Minn.); Ethan Somoza (Sr., F, Simi Valley, Calif.); Anika Stoskopf (Fr., F, Roseau, Minn.); Claudia Verkerke (Jr., F, White Bear Lake, Minn.) and Kara Werth (Sr., D, Moorhead, Minn.).

Krampade, LLC, is a Lincoln, Nebraska-based company focused on mitigating and preventing cramp formation, while enhancing performance using its patent-pending formulations. The beauty of Krampade® is the depth and breadth of its consumer base, which translates into helping a lot of people resolve their issues with cramping in an effective, cost-efficient manner. Their website is

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association and Western Collegiate Hockey Association, respectively, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).