Armour, Bemidji State earns 4-3 overtime victory at No. 7 North Dakota

October 16, 20211st2nd3rdOTFinal
Bemidji St.30014
North Dakota11103
Scoring Summary
100:47BSULooft, Kyle (Ierullo, Alex , Sillinger, Owen)
101:28BSUKirkup, Tyler
103:17UNDCalder, Ashton (Ford, Connor , Jandric, Chris)
117:39BSUKirkup, Tyler (Adams, Alex , Sillinger, Lukas)
206:11UNDGaber, Riese (Jamernik, Louis , Moore, Cooper)
319:12.0UNDCalder, Ashton (Schmaltz, Jake , Ford, Connor)
400:53BSUArmour, Ross (Ierullo, Alex )
Shootout Summary
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
BSUEnright, Gavin00:00000
BSUSholl, Mattias00:00000
BSUCarr, Michael60:533031
UNDJohnson, Kaleb00:00000
UNDHellsten, Jakob00:00000
UNDDriscoll, Zach59:094013
UNDFeeney, Harrison00:00000
Statistical ComparisonBSUUND
Shots on Goal1734
Power Plays0-30-4
Armour, Bemidji State earns 4-3 overtime victory at No. 7 North Dakota
Saturday, October 16, 2021
Armour, Bemidji State earns 4-3 overtime victory at No. 7 North Dakota

GRAND FORKS, N.D. (Ralph Engelstad Arena) – Ross Armour scored 53 seconds into overtime to give the Bemidji State University men's hockey team a 4-3 victory over No. 7 University of North Dakota and its first win of the season, Saturday at Ralph Engelstad Arena. After scoring twice in during the first 90 seconds, the Beavers needed overtime heroics to top the nationally-ranked Fighting Hawks to split the non-conference home-and-home series.

Just as it did the night before, Bemidji State got out of the gates quickly. Ninety seconds after the opening faceoff, BSU found itself owning a two-goal lead. Kyle Looft got BSU on the board just 47 seconds into the game. Alex Ierullo and Owen Sillinger were credited with assists on the junior defender’s second collegiate goal from the top of the slot. Kirkup added an unassisted goal at the 1:28 mark of the first for his first collegaite multi-goal contest.

After UND cut the BSU lead in half, 2-1, on a Ashton Calder goal at the 3:17 mark of the frame, Kirkup struck again, netting his second goal of the night and third of the weekend on former teammate Zack Driscoll, sending the Beavers into the first break up 3-1. Alex Adams and Lukas Sillinger earned helpers on the goal.

Riese Gaber scored the only goal of a second period dominated by UND. Buoyed by a pair of power-play opportunities, the Fighting Hawks outshot the Beavers 11-4 in the frame, but the BSU defense was up to the task and skated into the final 20 minutes of play clinging to a 3-2 lead.

UND again controlled play for long stretches in the third, but it wasn’t until the Fighting Sioux pulled Driscoll late that they were able to find the back of the net. With 42 seconds left in regulation, Calder scored his second goal of the evening to even the score and push the game to overtime.

Armour opened 3-on-3 play by pulling a stretch pass from Alex Ierullo into the zone, splitting a pair of UND players and beating Driscoll high glove side for the win. It marked the Beavers first vetime win since March 2, 2021 when Kirkup scored 1:10 into the extra fame to give BSU its 11th win of the 2020-21 season. 

For the second straight night, the BSU penalty-kill was flawless. The Beavers held a high-octane UND team without a goal on seven man-advantage chances, including an 0-for-4 night in the series finale.

Michael Carr posted a career-high 31 saves, and allowed three goals in the win.  He improves to 1-1-0 on the season.

The Beavers (1-3-0) will open Central Collegiate Hockey Association play Oct. 22-23 when they travel to Marquette, Mich. for a two-game series versus Northern Michigan University. The opening faceoff is set for 5:37 p.m. (CT) both Friday and Saturday from the Barry Events Center.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association and Western Collegiate Hockey Association, respectively, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.