Juell tabbed NSIC Field Athlete of the Week
Wednesday, May 4, 2011
Juell tabbed NSIC Field Athlete of the Week
BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- Bemidji State University multi-event athlete Tandy Juell (So., Redwood Falls, Minn.) has been named Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Indoor Track Athletes of the Week.  The announcement from the league office came on the heels of the 2011 NSIC Multi-event Championships in Aberdeen, S.D.

Juell contributed to Bemidji State’s recent dominance in the men’s outdoor multi-events, winning his first NSIC decathlon title and the fifth straight for Beaver men. Juell scored a career-best 6,531 total points, provisionally qualifying the sophomore for the 2011 NCAA Division II Outdoor Track and Field Championships, while the score ranks him sixth in the nation in the event. Juell earned a pair of victories with personal best efforts in the pole vault, clearing a height of 14 feet, 11 inches, and in the javelin throw with a mark of 182 feet. The Redwood Falls, Minn. native also set career marks in the shot put (39-8 ½) and high jump (5-11 ¼) placing second and third, respectively.

Juell’s conference title comes one year after BSU athelte Zac Preble wrapped up his fouth consecutive decathlon crown en route to All-America honors at the NCAA Championships.

Juell’s victory in the 10-discipline event garnered the Beavers 10 points in the team standings heading into the NSIC Outdoor Track and Field Championships, May 13-14.

The Bemidji State sophomore shares this week’s NSIC honor with Augustana College’s Aduo Omot, who was named male track selection, Tanya Vassar of Northern State University, the NSIC heptathlon champion and women’s field athlete of the week  and University of Minnesota Duluth’s Morgan Place, who took home the league’s female track honor.  

The BSU men’s and women’s outdoor track and field teams continue a busy week of competition Saturday as they travel to Moorhead, Minn., the site of the 2011 NSIC Outdoor Championships, to compete in Minnesota State University, Moorhead’s Ron Masanz Invitational.