Johnson earns third-straight postseason NSIC honor
Thursday, April 30, 2009
Johnson earns third-straight postseason NSIC honor

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Mara Johnson (Sr., 2B, Bemidji, Minn.) earned her third postseason honor as she was named to the 2009 All-NSIC Second Team, the league announced today.

The all-conference award is the third of Johnson’s career, as she was named an honorable mention the last two seasons.

Johnson led the team this past season in batting average (.368), runs (20), hits (39), runs batted in (25), total bases (67) and slugging percentage (.632). She was one of just three players to start in all 36 games this season, and she also tied the Bemidji State softball single-season home run record with seven.

The NSIC regular season shampions of Southwest Minnesota State University took home two of the four specialty awards as Amanda Burkhart was named NSIC Player of the Year and Amanda Johnson was named NSIC Pitcher of the Year for the fourth-straight year. Kayla Lewis of Winonan State University earned NSIC Rookie of the Year honors and Gretta Melsted was named the NSIC Coach of the Year.

Bemidji State ended its season with an 8-28 overall record and a 3-21 mark in the NSIC.