Bemidji State Softball heads south to compete in the Tucson Invitational
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Bemidji State Softball heads south to compete in the Tucson Invitational

BEMIDJI, Minn.  – The Bemidji State University softball team will head south to compete in the Tucson Invitational beginning Saturday. The Beavers will play 12 games while in Tucson, Arizona against NCAA Division II, III and NAIA competition in their final games before conference play begins March 25.  

Scouting Bemidji State

BSU, which opened its season last week with four games in West St. Paul, returned to Bemidji, Minn. with a 2-2 record. The Beavers split a pair of games with Minnesota State University Moorhead losing 7-5 in the first game and rebounded to defeat the Dragons 9-7 in extra innings in game two. Bemidji State also defeated University of Minnesota Crookston, 9-2, and fell to Minot State University, 6-5, in its season-opening games.

The Beavers’ offense has been clicking to start the 2015 campaign with a team batting average of .320 so far. BSU has also received contributions offensively from many different players, as 11 different players have at least five at bats and each of them have at least one hit.

Freshmen Kaitlyn Shea and Lexi Ripka have paced BSU’s offense in 2015 with batting averages .500 and above. Shea, who’s freshman season was cut short due to injury a year ago, leads the team with four extra base hits, a .545 batting average and five RBI. While Shea has supplied the power, Ripka has set the table at the top of BSU’s lineup, leading the squad in hits (7), on-base percentage (.588) and stolen bases (2).

Bemidji State has four pitchers that have seen time in the circle this season. Senior Allison Roberts and sophomore Jessica Yost lead the staff with eight-and-two-third innings and eight-and-one-third innings pitched, respectively. Yost, who has a 4.20 ERA this season, paces the team with 13 strikeouts, while Roberts has held opponents to a team-best .222 batting average against and a 4.04 ERA.

About the Opponents                                                                                                                                                                                                   The Beavers will take on one Division II team (twice), a Division III institution and nine NAIA teams while in Tucson. A complete schedule of BSU’s trip to the Grand Canyon State can be found below. To stay up to date on the Bemidji State softball schedule this spring, download our electronic calendar by clicking HERE and receive schedule changes on your favorite mobile or desktop device.

March 7                    Presentation College (NAIA)                4:30 p.m.

March 7                    Aquinas College (NAIA)                         7 p.m.

March 8                    Concord University (Neb.) (NAIA)      1:30 p.m.

March 8                    Nyack College (D-II)                                3:30 p.m.

March 9                    Dordt College (NAIA)                               4:30 p.m.

March 9                    Nyack College (D-II)                                7 p.m.     

March 10                  Cedar Crest College (D-III)                   10 a.m.  

March 10                  Missouri Valley College (NAIA)           12 p.m.

March 12                  Viterbo University (NAIA)                      1:30 p.m.

March 12                  Doane College (NAIA)                             6 p.m.     

March 13                  British Columbia University (NAIA)    11 a.m.

March 13                  Dickinson University (NAIA)                3:30 p.m.

For more information on the Bemidji State softball program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers or @Beaver_Softball), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).