Bemidji State softball announces 2017 schedule

Bemidji State softball announces 2017 schedule
Monday, January 23, 2017
Bemidji State softball announces 2017 schedule

BEMIDJI, Minn. – Bemidji State University softball head coach Rick Supinski announced the 2017 schedule for the BSU softball program, Monday. The Beavers will play 44 games between Feb. 27 and April 30, and begin Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference play March 28 at University of Minnesota Crookston.

Bemidji State will look to build upon a record-setting 2016 season that saw the Beavers set program records in wins (33) and their first birth into the NSIC Softball Tournament since 2008.

The Beavers host their first home series at the BSU softball field March 23 in a scrimmage against Itasca Community College and their first conference series April 1 against Minnesota State University Moorhead.

Bemidji State and MSU Moorhead co-host the first tournament of the season Feb. 27-28 at the West St. Paul Dome in West St. Paul, Minn. The Beavers will scrimmage against Anoka-Ramsey Community College and face Minnesota Crookston and MSU Moorhead in the tournament.

The Beavers will then spend spring break in Clermont, Fla., participating in a six-day tournament. BSU will see 12 different teams during the tournament in NCAA Division II and NAIA action.

Bemidji State will spend the remainder of the season in conference action. The Beavers will see Northern State University, University of Mary, Upper Iowa University, Winona State University, St. Cloud State University, Concordia University-St. Paul, Minnesota State University, Mankato, Minot State University, Wayne State College, Augustana University, University of Minnesota Duluth, Sioux Falls University and Southwest Minnesota State University throughout the year.

For more information on the Bemidji State University softball program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@Beaver_Softball or @BSUBeavers) or like them on Facebook (

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).