BSU Softball earns split on day two of Spring Break Tournament

March 13, 20171234567RHE
Bemidji State403000X7103
Win: Yost (3-1) 6.0531112
Loss: Brianna Rotunno (0-2) 2.197421
Leyri Rivera (POSTSB) 323100
Krejci (BSU) 312301
March 13, 20171234567RHE
Ohio Dominican0000003383
Bemidji State0000101283
Win: Bailey Miller (2-2) 7.082104
Loss: McAllister (0-2) 6.272101
Kelly Wallace (ODUSB) 413100
Ripka (BSU) 423000
BSU Softball earns split on day two of Spring Break Tournament
Monday, March 13, 2017
BSU Softball earns split on day two of Spring Break Tournament

CLERMONT, Fla. – The Bemidji State University softball team split day two at the Spring Break Tournament in Clermont, Fla., Monday. The Beavers (3-3, 0-0 NSIC) began the day by defeating Post University 7-6 but fell to Ohio Dominican University, 3-2.

Post 6, Bemidji State 7

The Beavers used bursts of offense in the first and third innings to defeat the Eagles 7-6 in the day’s first game.

The Eagles jumped on the scoreboard with two runs in the first inning but BSU responded with four runs in the bottom half of the inning to take a 4-2 lead. Jessica Yost started the scoring when she doubled to center field that scored Alexandra Ripka. Makayla Pagel followed with an RBI single and then Alayna Krejci singled in the next at bat that scored two.

Post responded in the second inning by scoring on a passed ball to cut the Beavers’ lead to 4-3.

However, Krejci tallied her second and third RBI’s of the game by blasting a home run to left field in the third inning to extend the Beavers lead to 6-3. Jessica Burlingame would reach base on a throwing that scored Lexi Derrick for the last run of the inning.

The Eagles would cut the Beavers’ lead to one with a run in the fifth inning and two runs in the seventh, but Yost and the Beavers’ defense was able to hold Post in the final inning for the 7-6 win and first victory at the Spring Break Tournament.

Freshman Olivia Tucker started the game in the circle but was pulled after one inning and replaced by Yost who pitched the remainder of the game. Yost gave up five hits and one earned run while striking out 12 batters to earn her third victory of the season.

Krejci led the Beavers at the plate by going 2-for-3 with a home run and three RBI. Nine different Beavers tallied a hit in the game.

Bemidji State 2, Ohio Dominican 3

The second game of the day would prove to be more of a pitcher’s duel rather than a scoring race. Kelsey McAllister would get her first start of the season in the circle and was dominant for most of the game. The Lino Lakes, Minn., native held the Panthers scoreless through the first six innings.

Bemidji State would take a 1-0 lead in the fifth inning when Yost singled through the right side that scored Ripka. The Beavers took that lead into the top half of the seventh inning where McAllister retired the first two batters. However, after back-to-back singles by the Panthers, Yost would replace McAllister in the circle.

Ohio Dominican would eventually take its first lead of the game by scoring three runs in the seventh.

The Beavers would attempt a comeback and with one out, Ripka tripled to right field. McAllister drove her in by doubling on the very next at bat to cut the deficit to one. However, the Panthers would convert a double play on Yost and McAllister to end the game, 3-2.

McAllister finished the game by going 6.2 innings allowing just one earned run and seven hits with one strikeout. She also went 2-for-4 at the plate with two doubles and one RBI.

Ripka led the Beavers by going 3-for-4 at the plate with a triple and scored two runs.

Bemidji State will look to rebound tomorrow by facing Saint Michael’s College and Clarion University at 2:30 pm and 5 p.m., respectively.

For more information on the Bemidji State University softball program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@Beaver_Softball or @BSUBeavers) or like them on Facebook (

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).