BSU Softball travels to St. Joseph, Mo., for Hy-vee Classic

BSU Softball travels to St. Joseph, Mo., for Hy-vee Classic
Wednesday, March 17, 2021
BSU Softball travels to St. Joseph, Mo., for Hy-vee Classic

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University softball team concludes non-conference action this weekend by traveling to St. Joseph, Mo., to participate in the Hy-vee Classic hosted by Missouri Western State University, Mar. 19-20.

The Beavers (2-8) begin the 16-team tournament by facing a pair of nationally ranked opponents in No. 23 University of Central Oklahoma and No. 9 Rogers State University Friday, Mar. 19. Bemidji State then concludes play Saturday, Mar. 20 by facing Missouri Southern State University and host school Missouri Western State.

Live video and stats will only be available versus host school Missouri Western State and can be found at the links below.

Live Video

Live Stats

Bemidji State will look to end a seven-game losing streak after opening the first 10 games of the 2021 season with a 2-8 record. The Beavers have been led offensively by senior Lisa Kossan who is batting .393 in 28 at bats and has totaled 11 hits with three doubles and seven RBI. She is followed by junior Elaina Christiansen who is batting .306 in 36 at bats and has posted 11 hits with one double, two home runs and six RBI. Senior Sami Dullum leads the team with eight RBI and is batting .280 with one double and one home run. 

In the circle, Bemidji State is led by senior Stephi Dullum who has posted a 3.05 ERA in 20.2 innings and is 2-1 on the season. She is ninth in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference with 30 strikeouts and 10th by holding opponents to a .227 batting average. She is followed by freshman Stella Dolan who has pitched 18.2 innings and has posted an 0-1 record and 4.50 ERA.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).