Burns garners All-NSIC Honorable Mention
Monday, November 5, 2007
Burns garners All-NSIC Honorable Mention

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Bemidji State University senior outside hitter Brittney Burns (LeSueur, Minn.) has been selected to the 2007 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference All-Honorable Mention Team the league today announced. Burns’ selection is the second consecutive all-conference award she has garnered. Burns’ is the lone BSU player to earn all-conference honors since Heather Haugen and Kristin Smith were named to the team following the 2004 campaign.

Burns returned to the team as the only current player to have more than 500 kills, and has been the number one attack option for the Beavers virtually every season. With 3,988 attack attempts in her career Burns sits atop the BSU career attempts list and is just 12 attack attempts shy of becoming the first BSU player to amass 4,000 attack attempts in a career. She has also made it into the top ten on a couple other list at BSU. With 278 kills this season she has moved up to the second slot on BSU’s career kill list with 1,269, just 32 kills shy of passing Peggy Hammel-Moran for first and she sits in the tenth spot on BSU career dig list with 1,065 digs. She has also been a productive piece of the Beavers’ passing game. She currently ranks third on the team averaging 3.00 digs per game. Her 29 services aces are best among her teammates this season.

This season Burns became just the third player in BSU history to notch 1,000 kills and digs in a career at BSU joining Peggy Hammel-Moran and Diane Glampe as the only other players in BSU history to reach this feat.

NSIC preseason player of the year Erin Contons was named NSIC Player of the Year and was joined by head coach Terry Culhane on the individual awards list. Terry Culhane was named Coach of the Year by the league’s coaches.

Concordia-St. Paul’s Mary Slinger and Emily Palkert rounded out the individual award list. Slinger earned Libero of the Year while Palkert was named NSIC Freshman of the Year.

Bemidji State rounded out the season with an overall record of 10-16 overall and 6-12 in the NSIC. The ten wins was the most wins for the Beavers since 2004 while six wins in the NSIC is the most wins in conference play since the 2003 season when the Beavers were 7-9 in the NSIC.

The Beavers will be in action again Tuesday (Nov. 6) when it begins NSIC Tournament action. The eighth-seeded Beavers will face regular-season champion and defending NSIC Tournament crown-holder No. 1 Concordia-St. Paul at 7:30 p.m. at the Gangelhoff Center in St. Paul, Minn.

NSIC All-Conference Team
# Name School Pos Ht Yr Hometown
12 Maggie McNamara Concordia-St. Paul S 5-9 So. Zumbrota, Minn.
13 Whitney Meierotto Concordia-St. Paul OH 5-8 Jr. Washburn Wis.
16 Emily Palkert Concordia-St. Paul MH 5-11 Fr. Excelsior, Minn.
3 Mary Slinger Concordia-St. Paul Lib 5-8 So. Faribault, Minn.
9 Maria Steinhagen Concordia-St. Paul MH 5-10 Jr. Alexandria, Minn.
4 Julie Vancura MSU Moorhead S 5-6 Sr. Anoka, Minn.
7 Leah Ashburn Southwest Minnesota St. MB 5-9 So. Hector, Minn.
9 Erin Contons Southwest Minnesota St. OH 5-10 Sr. Apple Valley, Minn.
14 Tricia Ingvalson Southwest Minnesota St. MB 6-1 Sr. Caledonia, Minn.
10 Laura Dolezal Wayne State Lib 5-8 Sr. Columbus, Neb.
9 Emily Schroeder Wayne State OH 5-11 Sr. Belden, Neb.
8 Lisa Dobie Winona State S 5-10 Sr. Glen Ellyn, Ill.

NSIC All-Conference Honorable Mention
# Name School Pos Ht Yr Hometown
4 Brittney Burns Bemidji State OH 6-0 Sr. LeSueur, Minn.
8 Tatiani Santos University of Mary MH 5-11 Sr. San Jose Do Rio Preto, Brazil
16 Megan Norling MSU Moorhead OH 5-9 Jr. Plymouth, Minn.
7 Calla Oftedahl MSU Moorhead Lib 5-4 Jr. Apple Valley, Minn.
16 Theresa Crance Minnesota, Crookston MH 6-1 Sr. Timber Lake, S.D.
7 Emily Knaeble Northern State OH 5-8 Sr. Andover, Minn.
1 Sara Graf Southwest Minnesota St. S 5-10 So. Mt. Pleasant, Iowa
6 Sarah Quiram Southwest Minnesota St. Lib 5-10 Jr. LeSueur, Minn.
5 Darcy Hageman Upper Iowa MH 5-11 Sr. Decorah, Iowa
2 Carmen Stankowski Winona State OH 5-8 So. Mosinee, Wis.