Bemidji State volleyball returns to play in 2021 with 28-match schedule

Bemidji State volleyball returns to play in 2021 with 28-match schedule
Friday, June 11, 2021
Bemidji State volleyball returns to play in 2021 with 28-match schedule

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Bemidji State University Volleyball Head Coach Kevin Ulmer has unveiled the Beavers’ 28-match 2021 schedule featuring nonconference tournaments in Montana and Indiana, at least five regular-season matchups with 2019 NCAA Division II Volleyball Tournament participants, and 10 home matches.

For the complete schedule, click here.

After 21 months without an official match due to the world-wide Coronavirus pandemic, the BSU volleyball team will open the 2021 campaign Sept. 3-4 at the Jacket Volleyball Classic hosted by Montana State University-Billings in Billings, Mont. While the participants have not been announced, the Beavers will travel to Billings  for a pair of matches Sept. 3 and two more Sept. 4. BSU then concludes its nonconference schedule by traveling to Indianapolis, Ind., to participate at the U Indy Invite hosted by the University of Indianapolis. Again the Beavers will face four different opponents with two matches Sept. 9 and two more Sept.10.

Bemidji State opens Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference play with it longest homestand of the season—three matches. Southwest Minnesota State University will be in Bemidji, Minn. for a Sept. 17 contest to break the seal on the 2021 conference slate, followed by University of Sioux Falls Sept. 18 and a mid-week clash with St. Cloud State University Sept. 21, with the Huskies fresh off a 2019 national tournament berth.

The Beavers’ first NSIC road trip of the season will be west through South Dakota and Nebraska. BSU will first travel to Sioux Falls, S.D. for a Sept. 24 match at Augustana University. Sept. 25 BSU will make its way to Wayne, Neb. for an afternoon meeting with Wayne State College.

Bemidji State kicks off a 10-match October with its only 2021 meetings with Upper Iowa University, Oct. 1, and Winona State University, Oct. 2. A trip to longtime volleyball powerhouse, 2019 NSIC Tournament champion and NCAA Tournament participant Concordia University-St. Paul follows, Oct. 8. The Beavers will then head down the road to Mankato, Minn. for an Oct. 9 match at Minnesota State University, Mankato. Oct. 15 and 16 Bemidji State returns to the BSU Gymnasium for its only matchup with 2019 NSIC regular-season champion Northern State University and Minnesota State University Moorhead.

BSU ‘s longest road swing of the season spans three matches from Oct. 22-28. The Beavers open the road stint in Bismarck, N.D. at University of Mary (Oct. 22), where it has defeated the Marauders in each of the last three meetings between the teams, before a trip west on Highway 2 for an Oct. 23 meeting with Minot State University. Bemidji State will close out the road trip with a mid-week meeting at University of Minnesota Crookston, Oct. 28, before completing October action by hosting University of Minnesota Duluth for an Oct. 30 match on the Beavers’ home court.

The Beavers return to action Nov. 2 with a quick trip to St. Cloud, Minn. for its second meeting of the regular season with the Huskies Nov. 2. Nov. 5-6 the Beavers host Wayne State and Augie on back-to-back dates to wrap up the home portion of the 2021 slate. The 2021 regular season comes to a close Nov. 12 and 13 as the Beavers travel back to Sioux Falls, S.D. for an NSIC match with Sioux Falls and a Saturday contest at Southwest Minnesota State in Marshall, Minn. as the Beavers complete the NSIC slate just like they start it, versus the Mustangs, Nov. 13.

Postseason play is set for Nov. 19-21 with the top eight teams invited to Sioux Falls, S.D. for the NSIC Volleyball Tournament. The winner of the postseason event will receive an automatic berth into the 2021 NCAA Tournament.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey holding memberships in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association and Western Collegiate Hockey Association, respectively, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).