Beavers place 17th at Roy Griak Invitational
Saturday, September 25, 2004
MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - At the six-kilometer Roy Griak Invitational on Saturday morning, Bemidji State’s cross country team turned in a 17th place finish at the 18-school event. The Beavers competed in the Division II category at the event, held at the University of Minnesota’s Les Bolstad Golf Course.

Placing two Wildcats in the top ten and five in the top 25, Northern Michigan breezed to its third consecutive Griak title. Running for Wisconsin-Stevens Point, Megan Craig’s 22:20 time was the fastest individual effort of the event.

For the third time in the Beavers’ first three intercollegiate events of the 2004 campaign, junior Christa Pribula (East Grand Forks, Minn.) was the first BSU runner through the finish line. The defending Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Female Cross Country Co-Athlete of the Week, Pribula’s time of 24:13 put her in 54th place, besting her previous high finish (72nd, 2003) at the Roy Griak by almost 20 positions.

The team ran without its No. 2 runner, as sophomore Nicole Friend (International Falls, Minn.) missed the event due to commitments with the women’s basketball team. The squad still managed to finish third out of four NSIC teams at the run, placing ahead of Wayne State and remaining within striking distance of both Northern State and MSU-Moorhead.

“Our No. 2 and No. 3 girls (freshmen Brittney Olson and Jillian Schuste) both had excellent runs for us,” Hougen said after the meet. “If they can continue to have solid runs, we’re going to be looking real good for the conference (championships).”

The Beavers now have a 13-day layoff, with the squad’s next event coming on Friday, October 8 at the Dragon Run in Moorhead, Minn. The NSIC Championships will be held in Wayne, Neb. on Saturday, October 23.

Team Scores
Northern Michigan 70
Concordia-Nebraska 81
UW-Stevens Point 98
Manitoba 103
South Dakota 156
UW-La Crosse 186
Washington (Mo.) 187
North Dakota 187
Minnesota-Duluth 218
Augustana (S.D.) 256
Michigan Tech 309
St. Cloud State 380
Minnesota State, Mankato 384
Saint Mary (Neb.) 417
Northern State 450
MSU-Moorhead 465
Bemidji State 475
Wayne State 485

Bemidji State Individual Times
54 Christa Pribula 24:13
139 Brittney Olson 26:56
147 Jillian Schuste 27:27
159 Brianna McGill 28:05
164 Ali Judkins 28:17
174 Adonia McCormick 29:28
179 Dominique Quinn 30:38
182 Tonya Skime 32:07
183 Janel Budenski 32:32
187 Erin Hansen 37:15