Beavers finish sixth at Pine Hill Invitational
Saturday, October 8, 2011
Beavers finish sixth at Pine Hill Invitational
CARLETON, Minn. (Pine Hill Golf Course) --  The Bemidji State University cross country team placed sixth at the Pine Hill Invitational Saturday. Kirsten Maras (Sr., Anoka, Minn.) led the way for the Beavers placing 35th individually.

Maras completed the 6,000-meter course in a time of 24 minutes, 21 seconds to cross the line 1:59 off the pace set by the University of Minnesota Duluth competitor Morgan Place (22:22), the event’s top finisher.

St. Olaf College (20) took the team title over Winona State University (56) and Minnesota Duluth (72).  

BSU was 165 points back in sixth place (185).

In addition to Maras, BSU had seven other runners compete in the race with four posting times that contributed to the Beavers’ team score.  Junior Tina Larson (Morris, Minn.) clocked the best time of her career (24:21) to finish 50th, Michelle Ohman (Jr., Prior Lake, Minn.) finished 72nd (25:38), Tess Boucher (Fr., Alexandria, Minn.) crossed the finish line in a time of 25:56 and Ali Hougen (Sr., Bemidji, Minn.) and sophomore Taylor Sautbine (Tamarack, Minn.) posted matching times of 25:59, with Hougen edging Sautbine at the tape. In addition, Mackenzie Haupert (So., Andover, Minn.) turned in a 27:48 and Emily Poquin (Fr., Coon Rapids, Minn.) rounded out BSU’s competitors with a time of 27:52.

Six of the Beavers’ participants posted times faster than they posted on the same course a year ago.

Bemidji State returns to action Oct. 14 when it travels to Jamestown, N.D. to participate in Jamestown College’s Jimmy Invitational.  

Pine Hill Invitational
Pine Hill Golf Course, Carleton, Minn.
WOMEN’S - 6,000 Meter Race

Place     Team (Points)

1     St. Olaf (20)
2     WInona State (56)
3     MInnesota Duluth (72)
4    St. Benedict’s (79)
5    Concordia-Moorhead (141)
6    Bemidji State (185)
7    Wisconsin-Superior (205)

Name         Time

Kirsten Maras    24:21
Tina Larson    24:58
Michelle Ohman    25:38
Tess Boucher    25:56
Alison Hougen     25:59
Taylor Sautbine    25:59
Mackenzie Haupert    27:48
Emily Paquin    27:52