Beavers run toward 2011 NSIC Championship meet
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Beavers run toward 2011 NSIC Championship meet
BEMIDJI, Minn. -- The Bemidji State University cross country team will compete in the 2011 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Championship run this Saturday, ending its regular season.  The meet is a 6,000-meter course, taking place  at the Panderosa Golf Club in Glyndon, Minn.

In most recent action, the Beavers took fourth place at the Jamestown Jimmie Invitational in Jamestown, N.D. last Friday.  Despite brutal weather conditions, Bemidji State had three runners finish in the top 20: Kirsten Maras (Sr., Anoka, Minn.) running away in 10th, Tina Larson (Jr., Morris, Minn.) placing 14th, and Taylor Sautbine (So., Tamarack, Minn.) finishing 19th at the meet.

Last year at the 2010 NSIC Championship footrace, BSU finished 10th overall.  Kristi Buerkle led the Beaver pact, finishing 35th place individually.  Maras clocked a time of 25:36.09, placing 54th.  Other notables in last year’s conference meet included Ali Hougen (Sr., Bemidji, Minn.) ending in 56th, Larson who finished three spots behind her in 59th, Pearl Walker in 63rd, and Mackenzie Haupert (So., Andover, Minn.) in 69th.  

The crowned victor in last year’s conference meet was Augustana College, tallying a team score of 39 and an average time of 22:27.94.  The Beavers finished with a total of 267,  averaging a time of 26:00.67.  

Augustana College is currently ranked seventh nationally.

The 2011 NSIC Championship meet is slated to begin at 11:00 a.m.