Augustana claims NSIC cross country title; BSU finishes ninth
Saturday, October 22, 2011
Augustana claims NSIC cross country title; BSU finishes ninth
GLYNDON, Minn. (Ponderosa Golf Course) -- Led by senior Kirsten Maras (Anoka, Minn.), the Bemidji State University cross country team finished ninth in the 2011 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Championship Saturday at Pondorosa Golf Course in Glyndon, Minn.

Maras completed the 6,000-meter course in a time of 23 minutes, 27.17 seconds to cross the line 3:11 off the pace set by Augustana College competitor Runa Falch (20:38.24), who finished the race with an eight-second cushion over the field.

Defending NSIC champion Falch and teammate Kyle Blakeslee (26:46.36) were the first two participants to cross the finish line leading the Vikings to their fourth consecutive NSIC title.  AC finished with a team score of 22 to hold a 13-point edge over University of Mary (35).

Bemidji State’s team score of 254 was comprised of the finishes of five of its 10 runners.  In addition to Maras’ 51st-place result, senior Brittney Becker (Sr., Grand Rapids, Minn.) took 62nd (24:12.1), Michelle Ohman (Jr., Prior Lake, Minn.) posted a time of 24:30.1 to finish 70th, Tina Larson (So., Bemidji, Minn.) placed 72nd (24:32.0) and Alison Hougan (Sr., Bemidji, Minn.) clocked a 24:52.0 to finish in 75th place.

The next scheduled race for the Beavers is the NCAA Regional set for Denver, Colo. Nov. 5.

2011 NSIC Championship
Ponderosa Golf Course, Glyndon, Minn.
WOMEN’S - 6,000 Meter Race

Place     Team           (Points)

1    Augustana    22
2    U-Mary    35
3    Winoa State    99
4    Minnesota Duluth    109
5    Minnesota State    132
6    St. Cloud State    141
7    Northern State    215
8    MSU Moorhead    221
9    Bemidji State    254
10    Wayne State    314    

Name         Time

51. Kirsten Maras    23:27.2
62. Brittney Becker    24:12.1
70. Michelle Ohman    24:30.1
72. Tina Larson    24:32.0
75. Alison Hougen     24:52.0
80. Taylor Sautbine    25:09.7
82. Tess Boucher    25:33.3
85. Kasey Lasch    25:50.7
90. Mackenzie Haupert    26:05.2
91. Emily Paquin    26:24.1