Bemidji State lands 24 on 2011 Fall Academic All-NSIC Team
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Bemidji State lands 24 on 2011 Fall Academic All-NSIC Team

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- Bemidji State University had 24 student-athletes selected to the 2011 Fall Academic All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Team, announced by the league office today.

BSU’s 24 representatives, on the 433-member All-Academic team, ranked 11th in the 14-team NSIC, trailing University of Mary (49), Winona State University (38), University of Minnesota Duluth (27), Augustana College (36), Minnesota State University, Mankato (36), Northern State University (35), St. Cloud State University (35), Wayne State College (29), Concordia University, St. Paul (27), and Upper Iowa University (27).

Bemidji State’s fall contingent was led by its football team which had 13 student-athletes recognized for academic accomplishment. BSU also had six members from its soccer and three members of the cross country team honored, while its volleyball team was represented by two student-athletes selected to the 2011 all-academic squad.

Sports considered for the Fall All-NSIC Academic Team are: men’s and women’s cross country, football, soccer, and volleyball.

To be eligible for the Academic All-NSIC Team, student-athletes must maintain a grade-point average of 3.20 or better, be a member of a varsity traveling team and have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at his or her institution with one full year completed at that campus.

2011 BSU Fall Academic All-NSIC Members
Cross Country

Alison Hougen, Sr., Bemidji, Minn.
Tina Larson, So., Bemidji, Minn.
Michelle Ohman, Jr., Prior Lake, Minn.

Tyler Abrahamson, So., New Brighton, Minn.
Jordan Anderson, Sr., Newfolden, Wis.
Josh Beste, Sr., East Grand Forks, Minn.
Isaac Carlson, So., Fergus Falls, Minn.
Cory Crosby, Jr., Cold Spring, Minn.
Matt Gandrud, Jr., Elk River, Minn.
Brian Leonhardt, Jr., Blaine, Minn.
Christian Metz, Jr., Cambridge, Minn.
Lance Rongstad, Jr., Eleva, Wis.
Brody Scheff, Sr., Waconia, Minn.
Bryan Syrstad, Jr., Thompson, N.D.
Dusty Sluzewicz, Sr., Homer Glen, Ill.
Buckley Wright, So., Sioux City, Iowa

Brianna Duff, Sr., Ramsey, Minn.
Bethany Fluto, Sr., Bemidji, Minn.
Maria Mcleod, Sr., White Bear Lake, Minn.
Bri Scanlan, Sr., East Grand Forks, Minn.
Tiffany VanHaaften, So., Chaska, Minn.
Jessica Voeller, So., White Bear Lake, Minn.

Jessi-Beth McCannell, Sr., Brandon, Manitoba
Bethany Thompson, Jr., Owatonna, Minn.