Bemidji State to run in the Roy Griak Invitational
Monday, September 24, 2012
Bemidji State to run in the Roy Griak Invitational

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University cross country team will be traveling down to University of Minnesota to participate in the Roy Griak Invitational Saturday. The Beavers will start their race at 9:50 a.m. at the Les Bolstad Golf Course, which is a 6,000-meter race.

This is the 27th year University of Minnesota will be hosting the event. The last time the Beavers participated in the race was in 2007. There will be schools from all divisions at the event, all racing at different times with their own divisions. Events start at 8:55 a.m. then the women’s Division III competition starts off the races. After that race the Beavers and the rest of the Division II schools will start. At 10:45 a.m. the Division II awards will be handed out.

Last year University of Mary took the team first place followed up by Augustana College. Obsie Birru of Grand View University took the individual first place with a time of 21:47.6 followed up by Kyle Blakeslee of Augustana, who ran a time of 21:53.8.

The last event BSU ran was the Wiley Wilson Memorial Run in Burlington, N.D. Sept. 14 where senior Tina Larson (Morris, Minn.) came in 12th with a time of 20:30. Behind her in the top 25 were fellow Beavers freshman Emily Turner (Bingham Lake, Minn.) with a time of 21:19 and senior Michelle Ohman (Prior Lake, Minn.) who ran a 21:30. Other Beavers who finished the race were freshman Jolynne Denman (Esko, Minn.) who finished with a time of 21:52, freshman Mikayla Connell (Bemidji, Minn.) ran a 21:52 and closely followed by junior Mackenzie Haupert (Andover, Minn.) who had a time of 21:54.

For more information about the Roy Griak Invitational visit