BSU to compete in the NSIC Championship
Monday, October 15, 2012
BSU to compete in the NSIC Championship

BEMIDJI, Minn.- The Bemidji State University cross country team will be running in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Championship Meet Saturday. The 6,000-meter race will be held at Les Bolstad Golf Course on the campus of the University of Minnesota at 12:00 p.m.

Last year at the NSIC Championship the Beavers finished ninth as team. In the 2011 race Michelle Ohman (Jr., Prior Lake, Minn.) finished 70th with a time 24:30.1, followed by senior Tina Larson (Morris, Minn.) in 72nd with a time of 24:32.0. Augustana College is the reigning conference champion and had the top two leaders last year in Runa Falch (20:38.3) and Kyle Blakeslee (20:46.4).

The last race the Beavers ran in was the Jimmie Invitational in Jamestown, N.D. The Beavers were once again led by Larson who finished 10th with a time of 20:12.00 that helped the team finish fourth. Other runners in the race for BSU were Taylor Sautbine (Jr., Tamarack, Minn.) with a time of 21:26.00 to finish 23rd, Emily Turner (Fr., Bingham Lake, Minn.) who posted a 21:52.00 and a 27th place finish, MacKenzie Haupert (Jr., Andover, Minn.) at 28th with a time of 21:54.00 and Mikayla Connell (Fr., Bemidji, Minn.) at 21:57.00 (30th).

After the conference championship will be the NCAA Regional Championship in Joplin, Mo. 12:00 p.m. Nov. 3.