Bemidji State cross country team honored for excellence in the classroom
Monday, February 25, 2013
Bemidji State cross country team honored for excellence in the classroom

NEW ORLEANS, La. -- The Bemidji State University cross country team has been selected to the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Division II All-Academic Team list in an announcement today from the organization’s national office.

The award marks the fifth consecutive season the Beavers, under the direction of head coach Craig Hougen, have been honored by the organization for success in the classroom.

Bemidji State, which carried a 3.22 cumulative team grade point average last fall, was one of six institutions hailing from the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) and 127 institutions from around the country to be honored with this year’s all-academic award.

The Beavers tied for 99th among all honored teams and posted the third-highest GPA among listed NSIC member institutions.

King College reported the highest cumulative team GPA in the country for all divisions and genders at 3.819. while 2012 NCAA Division II team champion Grand Valley State University was selected as the USTFCCCA Scholar Team Athlete Team of the Year after posing a 3.312 GPA.

To qualify as a USTFCCCA All-Academic Cross Country Team, the team must have a cumulative team GPA of 3.00 or better and have compiled a score (finished at least five runners) at their respective NCAA regional championship.

For more information on the Bemidji State cross country program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).