Cross country team opens season at Randy Smith Invite
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Cross country team opens season at Randy Smith Invite

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University cross country team will travel to Moorhead, Minn. Sept. 13 to compete in the Randy Smith Invitational to begin the season. Bemidji State is lead by Head Coach Craig Hougen as he enters his 23rd year of coaching BSU cross country. BSU returns ten runners headlined by NSIC Athlete to Watch Emily Turner (Windom, Minn.).

Turner paced BSU in three of five events in 2013. She led the way for the Beavers at the NSIC Championship and also competed in the NCAA Division II Central Regional. In addition, Turner’s 2013 highlights included posting a first-place finish in the Greenwood Run and 20:09 time to place 25th at last year’s Randy Smith Invitational.

Each of the BSU’s returners finished in the top 80 in last year’s Randy Smith Invite. In addition to Turner, Nicole Szech (Long Prarie, Minn.) placed 41st with a time of 20:56 followed by Jolynne Denman (Esko, Minn.) (21:24), Emily Paquin (Coon Rapids, Minn.) (21:24), Samantha Taube (Fairbanks, Alaska) (21:26), Jane Austin (Duluth, Minn.) (21:36), Nicole Crummy (Argyle, Minn.) (21:40), Austyn Eng (Braham, Minn.) (21:58), Mikayla Connell (Bemidji, Minn.) (22:49) and Caitlyn Quast (Hutchinson, Minn.) (26:29).

The next race for the Beavers will be the Roy Griak Invitational in St. Paul, Minn. Sept. 27. The Beavers will compete in four total races in preparation for the NSIC Championship Nov. 8 in Wayne, Neb.

For more information on the Bemidji State cross country program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or Track&Fiield/CrossCountry Facebook) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).