Freshman Ryne Prigge selected as Beaver Cross Country Athlete to Watch

Freshman Ryne Prigge selected as Beaver Cross Country Athlete to Watch
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Freshman Ryne Prigge selected as Beaver Cross Country Athlete to Watch

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- Bemidji State University cross country freshman Ryne Prigge has yet to run for the program but was selected as BSU’s Athlete to Watch in the 2018 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Preseason Coaches’ Poll, which was released Wednesday. The Beavers squad was picked to finish 13th in the annual NSIC coaches’ poll.

Prigge, a native of Ely, Minn., was a letterwinner in cross country and track and field at Ely High School prior to joining Bemidji State. She was a multiple-time state qualifier in cross country and holds a personal best time of 19:58.70 in the 5K run. Prigge also holds a personal best time of 16:37.80 in the 4K.

Head Coach Kevin Kean, in his fourth season with BSU, coached a young squad that mostly returns in 2018 while helping the team set multiple personal best times as the season unfolded. Sophomore Brittny Hillstrom completed the final three meets as the program’s top finisher in each. Returning letterwinners Courtney Anderson and Kristen Petron were each members of the 2017 Fall Academic All-NSIC Team.

The Beavers will compete in two meets during the month of September and two in the month of October before the NSIC Championships on Nov. 3. BSU begins the 2018 season Friday, Sept. 7 at the Dragon Twilight.

Bemidji State received 42 points to finish 13th overall in the 2018 NSIC Preseason Coaches’ Poll. University of Mary took 11 first-place votes and 192 total points to finish first, followed by Augustana University with four first-place votes and 185 total votes. University of Minnesota Duluth, Winona State University and Minnesota State University, Mankato round out the top five selections.

NSIC Preseason Coaches’ Poll
Team (First Place Votes) Total Points

  1. U-Mary (11) 192
  2. Augustana (4) 185
  3. Minnesota Duluth 166
  4. Winona State 148
  5. Minnesota State 147
  6. Sioux Falls 128
  7. MSU Moorhead 114
  8. Northern State 108
  9. Concordia-St. Paul 91
  10. St. Cloud State 79
  11. Southwest Minn. State 65
  12. Minot State 56
  13. Bemidji State 42
  14. Wayne State 36
  15. Upper Iowa 18

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).