Prigge named Athlete to Watch as 2019 NSIC Preseason Coaches' Poll released

Prigge named Athlete to Watch as 2019 NSIC Preseason Coaches' Poll released
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Prigge named Athlete to Watch as 2019 NSIC Preseason Coaches' Poll released

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – The Bemidji State University cross country team was voted to finish 14th as the 2019 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Preseason Coaches’ Poll was released today. Sophomore Ryne Prigge was selected as the BSU Athlete to Watch after leading the team in every meet last season.

Prigge, a native of Ely, Minn., placed as the team’s top finisher in all six meets during the 2018 season, setting personal record times of 19:51.6 in the 5,000-meter race at the Ron Pynn Classic and 23:23.2 in the 6,000-meter race at the NSIC Championships during her freshman campaign. Three returning letter winners earned 2018 Fall Academic All-NSIC Team honors including juniors Carissa Decko, Ashley Herdering and Kristin Petron. Head Coach Kevin Kean enters his fifth season with the program while bringing back five letter winners and welcoming in six newcomers.

Bemidji State garnered 49 points in the NSIC Cross Country Preseason Coaches’ Poll to rank 14th, ahead of Upper Iowa University in 15th and University of Minnesota Crookston in 16th. The University of Mary was voted to win the conference with 223 points, including 13 first-place votes, while Augustana University was voted to finish second with 212 points and three first-place votes.

UMary’s Ida Narbuvoll was named NSIC Preseason Athlete of the Year after coming off a season where she finished second at the NSIC Championships, fourth at the NCAA Central Region meet and 12th at the NCAA Championships to earn All-American honors.

The 2019 Beaver Cross Country season begins Friday, Sept. 6 at the Dragon Twilight in Moorhead, Minn. The Dragon Twilight is one of six meets for BSU, including the NSIC Championships held Saturday, Oct. 26 in Wayne, Neb.

NSIC Preseason Coaches' Poll                     Points
1. University Mary (13) 223
2. Augustana (3) 212
3. Minnesota Duluth 185
4. Minnesota State 184
5. Sioux Falls 169
6. Winona State 164
7. Northern State 131
8. MSU Moorhead 122
9. St. Cloud State 113
10. Concordia-St. Paul 110
11. Wayne State 74
12. Minot State 70
13. Southwest Minnesota State 60
14. Bemidji State 49
15. Upper Iowa 39
16. Minnesota Crookston 15
      first place votes in (  )  

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).