Head Coach Kevin Kean releases 2021 Beaver Cross Country schedule

Head Coach Kevin Kean releases 2021 Beaver Cross Country schedule
Monday, July 19, 2021
Head Coach Kevin Kean releases 2021 Beaver Cross Country schedule

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Bemidji State University cross country head coach Kevin Kean announced the program’s 2021 schedule Thursday, which features three regular season meets.

Returning to the course for the first time since the 2019 season, BSU will open its 2021 campaign Sept. 10 at the Dragon Twilight in Moorhead, Minn. The Beavers will then run at the Roy Griak Invitational hosted by the University of Minnesota on Sept. 24 in Falcon Heights, Minn., followed by the regular-season finale Oct. 8 at the Bob Waxlax Invitational in Sauk Rapids, Minn.

BSU’s post-season schedule kicks off Oct. 23 at the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Championships hosted by Wayne State College in Wayne, Neb. The NCAA Central Region Championships will take place Nov. 6 in Joplin, Mo., with the 2021 NCAA Championships on Nov. 20 in Saint Leo, Fla.

The 2021 Beaver team returns four letter winners from the 2019 season, led by senior Ryne Prigge who holds the program records in the 5,000 and 6,000 meter races. She placed 47th at the 2019 NCAA Central Region Championships, the highest finish for a Beaver student-athlete at the meet since at least 2002.

BSU will add senior Maryse Mbenoun to the team, who earned an NSIC Indoor Track & Field title in the 600-meter run during the 2021 track & field season. The Beavers will also see the cross country debut of seven newcomers.

2021 Schedule
Sept. 10 – Dragon Twilight – Moorhead, Minn.
Sept. 24 – Roy Griak Invitational – Falcon Heights, Minn.
Oct. 8 – Bob Waxlax Invitational – Sauk Rapids, Minn.
Oct. 23 – NSIC Championships – Wayne, Neb.
Nov. 6 – NCAA Central Region Championships – Joplin, Mo.
Nov. 20 – NCAA Championships – Saint Leo, Fla.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).