Beaver Cross Country to run at NCAA DII Central Region on Saturday

Beaver Cross Country to run at NCAA DII Central Region on Saturday
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
Beaver Cross Country to run at NCAA DII Central Region on Saturday

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Senior Ryne Prigge leads the Bemidji State University cross country team to the 2021 NCAA Division II Central Regional race on Saturday, Nov. 6, set to begin at 10 a.m. from the Tom Rutledge Cross Country Course in Joplin, Mo.

NCAA DII Central Region Championship Page: CLICK HERE

Prigge paced the team and was named the recipient of the inaugural senior of the year award at the 2021 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Cross Country Championships in Wayne, Neb., on Saturday, Oct. 23. The Beavers finished 11th of 16 teams during the 6,000-meter race hosted by Wayne State College.

Prigge placed 51st with a time of 24:06.14 followed by freshman Mary Goodwin in 59th with a time of 24:21.25. Freshman Zoey Mills took 64th with a time of 24:34.64 while fellow freshman Carol Miller took 91st with a personal record time of 25:34.57.

Prigge was named the inaugural NSIC Senior of the Year for women’s cross country during the 2021 NSIC Cross Country Championships award ceremony. A native of Ely, Minn., and a nursing major, Prigge was voted to the honor by the league coaches. She holds a 3.72 cumulative grade point average and is the most decorated distance runner at Bemidji State in over a decade.

The 2021 DII cross country championships will be held Saturday, Nov. 20 at The Abbey Course in Saint Leo, Fla. Selections for the championship will be released on Monday, Nov. 8 at

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers or @BSUBeaversTFXC), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).