Bemidji State features department-best 13 NSIC Myles Brand Award winners

Bemidji State features department-best 13 NSIC Myles Brand Award winners
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Bemidji State features department-best 13 NSIC Myles Brand Award winners

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Commissioner Erin Lind has announced that 13 Bemidji State University student-athletes have been selected as recipients of the 13th annual NSIC Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award.

BSU’s 13 honorees is the most for the department since the induction of the award in 2010, topping the previous mark of nine set in 2016.

The award, named in honor of the late NCAA President Dr. Myles Brand, is bestowed to senior NSIC student-athletes who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or higher, are exhausting their eligibility and are on track to graduate.

“We continue to increase the number of student-athletes that have earned the Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award, which is a testament to the dedication of the student-athletes, coaches and administrators in our league. I am filled with pride on how our student-athletes in the NSIC continue to excel in the classroom, in the community and on the playing field. These are characteristics in which Dr. Myles Brand emphasized. I am extremely proud of all these student-athletes for their devotion to their universities, the NSIC and to their personal academic and athletic goals. I have no doubt these student-athletes will continue to achieve success in life well beyond the classroom and the competition venues,” said Lind.

A record number 238 student-athletes from the NSIC’s 16 institutions will receive the award, 11 more than last year’s record of 227.

Bemidji State NSIC Myles Brand Award Recipients

Student-Athlete Sport Hometown Major
Brooklyn Bachmann Women's Basketball Minooka, Ill. Business Administration
Cody Landwehr Men's Basketball St. Cloud, Minn. Aquatic Biology
Madeline Mackinac Volleyball Rosemount, Minn. Exercise Science
Isabelle Morin Soccer Bemidji, Minn. Marketing Communications
Jocelyn Nyblom Women's Golf Apple Valley, Minn. Business Administration
Ryne Prigge Track & Field/Cross Country Ely, Minn. Nursing
Rafaela Rafajlovska Track & Field Gostivar, Macedonia Exercise Science
Nicole Rezabek Women's Basketball/Track Sunrise Beach, Mo. Mass Communications
Layna Rutkowski Tennis Winona, Minn. Exercise Science
Alison Schak Softball Fairbault, Minn. Criminal Justice
Derek Thompson Men's Basketball Cold Spring, Minn. Business Administration
Molly Wenner Women's Basketball Cottage Grove, Minn. Project Management
Claire Wolhowe Women's Basketball Staples, Minn. Exercise Science

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association and Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).